John Earns First-Team All-Region Acclaim

Dec. 11, 2008

SEATTLE - Washington senior midfielder George John was named to the 2008 NSCAA Far West All-Region First-Team, the National Soccer Coaches Association of America announced.

John, a native of Shoreline, Wash., earned his third-straight All-Region honor but his first on the first-team making him eligible for NSCAA All-America honors. The Husky standout also earned first-team All-Pac-10 acclaim this year, in addition to first-team Pac-10 All-Academic honors and the 2008 Pac-10 Scholar Athlete of the Year award for men's soccer.

John was a preseason candidate for both the 2008 MAC Hermann Trophy and the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award. He tallied two goals and one assist as a defensive midfielder for the Huskies before suffering what ended up to be a season-ending knee injury in an Oct. 19 match at San Diego State.

John earned back-to-back second-team NSCAA Far West All-Region honors as sophomore and junior.

2008 NSCAA Division I Men's Soccer Far West All-Region Teams
First Team

GK, Stefan Frei, Jr., California
D, David Sias, Sr., UC Irvine
D, Patrick Sigler, Fr., Cal Poly San Luis Obispo
D, Tyler Barry, Sr., California
MF, Dylan Curtis, Sr., UC Davis
MF, George John, Sr., Washington
MF, Matt Murphy, Sr., UC Irvine
MF, Michael Stephens, Jr., UCLA
F, Andrew Wideman, So., California
F, Chris Pontius, Sr., UC Santa Barbara
F, Quincy Amarikwa, Sr., UC Davis

Second Team
GK, Eric Branagan-Franco, Sr., Cal Poly San Luis Obispo
D, Nick Cardenas, Jr., San Diego State
D, Brad Rusin, Sr., UCLA
D, Alfonso Motagalvan, Sr., UC Santa Barbara
MF, Jason Leopoldo, Sr., UCLA
MF, Nick Cukar, Jr., San Jose State
MF, Sunghyun Kim, Jr., Cal State Northridge
MF, Lamar Neagle, Sr., UNLV
F, Maxwell Griffin, Sr., UCLA
F, Justin Davis, Jr., New Mexico
F, Conor Chinn, Jr., San Francisco

Third Team
GK, Joe Willis, So., Denver
D, Simon Ejdemyr, Jr., New Mexico
D, Babajide Ogunbiyi, Sr., Santa Clara
D, AJ Soares, So., California
MF, Anton Peterlin, Sr., Cal Poly San Luis Obispo
MF, Joey Mathot, Sr., Denver
MF, Rafa Baca, So., Loyola Marymount
F, Kyle Christensen, Sr., Denver
F, Tye Perdido, Jr., Gonzaga
F, Kyle Montgomery, So., Cal Poly San Luis Obispo

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:45 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder