DiMartino Named MAC Hermann Trophy Finalist

Dec. 12, 2008

St. Louis, MO -The Pac-10 Player of the Year, the 2006 MAC Hermann Trophy winner and the College Cup Offensive Most Valuable Player comprise the three finalists for the 2008 Missouri Athletic Club Hermann Trophy, the highest individual honor in intercollegiate soccer. The finalists were determined in voting by Division I women's soccer coaches who are members of the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA).

Christina DiMartino (Massapequa, N.Y.) from UCLA, Kerri Hanks (Allen, Texas) of Notre Dame and Casey Nogueira (Raleigh, N.C.) from North Carolina are the three finalists for the award. The trio will be invited to the Missouri Athletic Club in downtown St. Louis on Friday, Jan. 9, for a news conference, where the winner of the award will be revealed (approximately 7 p.m. EST). A banquet at the Club that evening will feature the formal presentation of the prestigious crystal soccer ball trophy to the winner.

'The MAC Hermann Trophy is a very prestigious award and I'm thrilled that Christina has been named one of three finalists,' said UCLA head coach Jillian Ellis. 'I want to congratulate the other two players. All three players have earned the right to be named player of the year. I think it's a great reflection of our program that we've been able to have two finalists the past two seasons.'

DiMartino, a senior midfielder, was named the Pac-10 Player of the Year after leading the Bruins to an undefeated regular season and an appearance in the College Cup semifinals. She scored six goals and added six assists during the 2008 season. She scored the game-winning goal against then-No. 2 Stanford. During her career, DiMartino helped UCLA capture four consecutive Pac-10 titles and was a three-time All-Pac10 selection. Last season, her teammate Lauren Cheney was a finalist for the MAC Hermann Trophy.

Hanks, a senior forward, was named the Big East Offensive Player of the Year for the second time in her career. In 2006, she became the first sophomore to win the MAC Hermann Trophy. This season, Hanks scored 20 goals and added 15 assists (55 points) and ranked seventh in the nation in points per game (2.20). Hanks is a four-time NSCAA/adidas All-American. Her goal 16 seconds into the final game against North Carolina was the fastest in College Cup finals history.

Nogueira, a junior forward, scored both goals in the College Cup finals leading the Tar Heels to a 2-1 victory over Notre Dame. She was named Offensive MVP of the College Cup as UNC won their 19th national championship in school history. Nogueira scored 25 goals and eight assists, while ranking ninth in the nation in points per game (2.07). She earned ACC Offensive Player of the Year, ACC Tournament MVO and NSCAA/adidas All-America honors in 2008

The MAC has honored the top player in collegiate soccer since 1986. Some of the biggest names in soccer, such as Mia Hamm and Claudio Reyna, have won the award. For a complete list of past winners, go to www.mac-hermann-trophy.org. An exhibition featuring the current and past recipients of the MAC Hermann Trophy is on display at the National Soccer Hall of Fame in Oneonta, N.Y.

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder

Before you proceed please complete the captcha below.