Maualuga, Mays Selected To Two Other All-American Teams

Dec. 13, 2008

The All-American first team honors continued for USC linebacker Rey Maualuga and safety Taylor Mays, as both were named to the 2008 Football Writers and All-American first teams.

Maualuga was also named the National Defensive Player of the Year by

Maualuga previously has appeared on 3 other All-American first teams (Football Coaches, Walter Camp and, while Mays was on the Football Coaches and Walter Camp first teams.

Maualuga also was the winner of the 2008 Bednarik Award as the nation's top player, was the Pac-10 Defensive Player of the Year, made his third consecutive All-Pac-10 first team and was a finalist for the Lombardi, Butkus and Nagurski Awards. Mays, also an All-Pac-10 first teamer, was a finalist for the Thorpe Award.

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder