Washington State Football Banquet Wraps 2008 Season

Dec. 13, 2008

PULLMAN, Wash. - The Washington State University football team held its annual season-ending banquet Saturday evening at Bohler Gymnasium, honoring the senior class of 2008 that during its tenure captured three Apple Cup victories over rival Washington.

Senior wide receiver Brandon Gibson was named offensive MVP. Gibson started each of WSU's 13 games this season, hauling in 57 receptions for 673 yards, both of which were team highs. He completed his WSU career as the Cougars' all-time leader in receiving yards (2,756), and second on WSU's career receptions list (182). He is a two-time All-Pacific-10 Conference selection and was named to Phil Steele's All-Pac-10 First Team this past season.

Senior linebacker Greg Trent was named defensive MVP, in addition to receiving the Tim Petek Strongest Man Award and the Fred Bohler Cougar Inspiration Award. Trent recorded a team-high 88 tackles in 2008, starting each of the Cougars' 13 games. His 10.5 tackles-for-loss also led the Cougar squad. Trent completed his WSU career with 323 career tackles, good for seventh on the school's all-time list. Trent, who started each of WSU's last 37 games, was earned honorable mention All-Pac-10 honors in 2007 and 2008.

A'i Ahmu and Matt Mullennix shared the Leon Bender Award as the defensive lineman of the year. Ahmu registered a career-high 40 tackles in 2008, bringing his career total to 91. He also recorded 7.5 tackles-for-loss and 4.5 sacks during his Cougar career. Mullennix posted career-highs in tackles and tackles-for-loss, while playing all 13 games in 2008. For his career he recorded 102 tackles, 10.5 tackles-for-loss, and 5.5 sacks. Mullenix was also a four-time member of the Pac-10 All-Academic team, garnering first-team honors each of the past two years.

Junior offensive guard Kenny Alfred received the Mike Utley Award, given to the offensive lineman of the year. Alfred, the leader of the Cougars' offensive line, started each of WSU's 13 games this season - one of only two Cougar offensive linemen to do so, while also earning pac-10 All-Academic honors.

Mullennix was named the winner of the Laurie Niemi Award, given to the senior who best depicts the courage and attitude of former Cougar assistant coach Laurie Niemi. Senior tight end Ben Woodard was given the Frank Butler Award, which goes to a senior member of the team who exemplifies the Cougar spirit made famous by Spokane booster Frank Butler. The Cougar Inspiration Award, known as the Fred Bohler Award, was presented to Trent for displaying the inspiration of former athletic director and head basketball coach Fred Bohler.

Junior running back James Montgomery and freshman defensive end Adam Coerper were named the recipients of the Offensive and Defensive Scout Team Players of the Year, respectively.


Laurie Niemi Award (Cougar Attitude)		Matt MullennixFrank Butler Award (Cougar Spirit)	Ben WoodardFred Bohler Award (Cougar Inspiration)		Greg Trent

TEAM AWARDSLeon Bender Award (Defensive Lineman of the Year) A'i Ahmu and Matt MullennixMike Utley Award (Offensive Lineman of the Year) Kenny AlfredTim Petek Award (Strongest Man Award) Greg TrentScout Team Offensive Player of the Year James MontgomeryScout Team Defensive Player of the Year Adam CoerperOffensive Most Valuable Player Brandon GibsonDefensive Most Valuable Player Greg Trent

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder