Paul Ratcliffe Named <i>Soccer America</i>'s Women's Coach of the Year

Dec. 16, 2008

STANFORD, Calif. - In his sixth season on The Farm, Stanford women's soccer head coach Paul Ratcliffe was named Soccer America's Coach of the Year.

Under Ratcliffe's guidance, the Cardinal went 18-1-1 in the regular season and garnered a No. 1 regional seed in the 2008 NCAA DI Women's Soccer Championship. Stanford rode its top seed all the way to the College Cup, earning the program's second overall trip to the semifinals, and the first since 1993. The Cardinal fell, 1-0, in the semifinals to Notre Dame but not before putting an impressive display.

Stanford set a school season record for wins (22) and goals (71). Its only blemishes in its 22-2-1 season were to College Cup teams -- 1-0 losses to Notre Dame and UCLA and a 1-1 tie with North Carolina. The Cardinal finished with the nation's second-best goals-against-average (0.317) and shutout percentage (0.68) and sixth-best scoring offense (2.84 goals-per-game).

'It's been a spectacular season,' Ratcliffe said. 'The team has played great soccer the entire year and I'm proud of every one of them.'

Ratcliffe is the ninth head coach, and third from Stanford, to earn top honors from Soccer America which began issuing the award in 2001. Co-head coaches Stephanie Erickson and Paul Sapsford were distinguished by the publication in 2002.

2001 -- Jerry Smith (Santa Clara)
2002 -- Stephanie Erickson, Paul Sapsford (Stanford)
2003 -- Patrick Baker (Florida State)
2004 -- Dan Tobias (Arizona)
2005 -- Mark Krikorian (Florida State)
2006 -- Anson Dorrance (North Carolina)
2007 -- Ali Khosroshahin (USC)
2008 -- Paul Ratcliffe (Stanford)

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder