Mack And Reed Named 29th Morris Trophy Winners

Dec. 17, 2008

WALNUT CREEK, Calif.--Center Alex Mack of California and defensive end Nick Reed of Oregon have been named winners of the 29th annual Morris Trophy. Mack becomes just the third offensive lineman, and the first since Washington's Lincoln Kennedy in 1991-92, to be named a two-time winner of the award.

The Morris Trophy is a unique award given to the outstanding offensive and defensive linemen in the Pacific-10 Conference. What makes the award unique is the selection procedure, which has the starting offensive linemen in the Conference voting for the defensive winner and vice versa. It is truly a players' award.

Mack, a 6-foot-5, 316-pound senior from Santa Barbara, Calif., was named a first-team All-Pac-10 performer for the third straight year in voting by the Pac-10 head coaches and also has been selected the second-team All-America center by the Walter Camp Foundation. In addition, Mack became the first Pac-10 player to be awarded the prestigious Draddy Trophy by the National Football Foundation and Hall of Fame to the nation's top scholar-athlete. He has started all 37 games at center for the Golden Bears the last three seasons. In addition to his prowess on the field, Mack was named a first-team Pac-10 All-Academic selection by virtue of a 3.60 grade-point average in Graduate Studies.

Reed, a 6-foot-2, 255-pound senior from Trabuco Canyon, Calif., has been selected first-team All-Pac-10 by the Conference head coaches for the last two years and is a first-team All-America selection by the Walter Camp Foundation this year. Reed had a spectacular senior season as he led the Pac-10 in quarterback sacks with 13 and in tackles for loss with 19.5. With Reed as the leader, Oregon led the Pac-10 in sacks with 38. Like Mack, Reed is a first-team Pac-10 All-Academic selection boasting a 3.44 grade-point average in History. He also served as a Duck captain this season.

Mack and Reed will be presented their awards at a luncheon at the prestigious Washington Athletic Club in Seattle in January, 2009. The Morris Trophy is sponsored by the Morris Family of Woodway, Wash., and the Washington Athletic Club.

Previous Morris Trophy Winners

Year Offense Defense
1980 Roy Foster, USC Vince Goldsmith, Oregon
1981 Roy Foster, USC Fletcher Jenkins, Washington
1982 Bruce Matthews, USC George Achica, USC
1983 Gary Zimmerman, Oregon Keith Millard, Washington State
1984 Dan Lynch, Washington State Ron Holmes, Washington
1985 Jeff Bregel, USC Erik Howard, Washington State
1986 Danny Villa, Arizona State Reggie Rogers, Washington
1987 Randall McDaniel, Arizona State Dana Wells, Arizona
1988 Joe Tofflemire, Arizona Dana Wells, Arizona
1989 Bern Brostek, Washington Esera Tuaolo, Oregon State
1990 Pat Harlow, USC Steve Emtman, Washington
1991 Lincoln Kennedy, Washington Steve Emtman, Washington
1992 Lincoln Kennedy, Washington Rob Waldrop, Arizona
1993 Todd Steussie, California D'Marco Farr, Washington
1994 Tony Boselli, USC Chad Eaton, Washington State
1995 Jonathan Ogden, UCLA Tedy Bruschi, Arizona
1996 Bob Sapp, Washington Darrell Russell, USC
1997 Olin Kreutz, Washington Jeremy Staat, Arizona State
1998 Yusuf Scott, Arizona Inoke Breckterfield, Oregon State
1999 Travis Claridge, USC Willie Howard, Stanford
2000 Chad Ward, Washington Andre Carter, California
2001 Levi Jones, Arizona State Kenyon Coleman, UCLA
2002 Kwame Harris, Stanford Terrell Suggs, Arizona State
2003 Jacob Rogers, USC Dave Ball, UCLA
2004 Adam Snyder, Oregon Bill Swancutt, Oregon State
2005 Ryan O'Callaghan, California Haloti Ngata, Oregon
2006 Ryan Kalil, USC Sedrick Ellis, USC
2007 Alex Mack, California Sedrick Ellis, USC
2008 Alex Mack, California Nick Reed, Oregon

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:15 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder