Dec. 17, 2008

USC senior Bednarik Award winner and All-American first team linebacker Rey Maualuga was named the Most Valuable Player of the Rose Bowl-bound Trojan football team at the annual awards banquet Wednesday night (Dec. 17) at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza.

Maualuga was the Pac-10 Defensive Player of the Year as he led the Trojans in tackles with 73 in 2008. He added 2 interceptions and 3 deflections.

Senior defensive end Kyle Moore won USC's Most Inspirational Player Award. Sophomore center Kristofer O'Dowd and senior defensive tackle Fili Moala were presented with USC's Offensive and Defensive Lineman of the Year Awards, respectively. Senior placekicker David Buehler and senior defensive end Clay Matthews shared USC's Special Teams Player of the Year Award.

A complete list of the 2008 awards:

Most Valuable Player: linebacker Rey Maualuga

Most Inspirational Player: defensive end Kyle Moore

Linemen of the Year: center Kristofer O'Dowd (offense), defensive tackle Fili Moala(defense)

Co-Special Teams Players of the Year: placekicker David Buehler and defensive end Clay Matthews

Service Team Players of the Year: center-offensive tackle Steve Gatena (offense), defensive tackle Jurrell Casey (defense)

Player of the Game versus Notre Dame: linebacker Kaluka Maiava

Player of the Game versus UCLA: wide receiver Patrick Turner

Jack Oakie 'Rise and Shine' Award (year's longest run from scrimmage): tailback Joe McKnight (55 yards versus Notre Dame) Co-Howard Jones/Football Alumni Club Academic Award (overall academic achievement): quarterback Garrett Green, placekicker Jordan Congdon

Bob Chandler Award (underclassman with outstanding athletic ability, academic achievement and character): safety Taylor Mays

John McKay Award (underclassman with the most competitive spirit): wide receiver Damian Williams

Courage Award: offensive guard-center Jeff Byers

Co-Lifters Award: linebacker Brian Cushing, safety Kevin Ellison, defensive end Clay Matthews

Team Captains: safety Kevin Ellison, quarterback Mark Sanchez, linebacker Brian Cushing, offensive guard-center Jeff Byers

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder