Budinger Named to Naismith Trophy List

Dec. 18, 2008

TUCSON, Ariz. - University of Arizona men's basketball player Chase Budinger was named to the 2008-09 Naismith Trophy preseason watch list, it was announced Thursday by the Atlanta Tipoff Club.

The Wildcat junior is included among a list of 50 student-athletes who are under consideration for the 2009 Naismith Trophy, which has been given to college basketball's player of the year annually since 1969. Budinger is one of six Pac-10 players on the list, which ranks third nationally.

Budinger, a 6-foot-7, 218-pound forward from Encinitas, Calif., is averaging 18.8 points, 6.1 rebounds and 3.1 assists per game through nine games in 2008-09, while leading the team with 24 three-point field goals and a .600 (24-of-40) three-point field goal percentage. He has scored in double nine times to date, and is averaging 36.0 minutes per game.

In February, the Naismith Trophy voting academy will narrow this list to the Top 30 players in the nation. Final balloting will take place in March.The Naismith Trophy presented by AT&T will be awarded at the 2009 NCAA Men's Final Four in Detroit, Mich.

Arizona (7-2) is next in action on Saturday, Dec. 20, against UNLV in Las Vegas, Nev. Tip-off is scheduled for noon PST and can be seen nationally on the Versus network.

2008-09 Naismith Trophy Early Season Watch List:

Last    	First	Class	Position	SchoolAbrams   	A.J.	  Sr.	Guard   	TexasAdrien  	Jeff	  Sr.	Forward 	ConnecticutAkognon 	Josh	  Sr.	Guard   	Cal. St. FullertonBlair   	DeJuan	  So.	Forward 	PittsburghBrockman	Jon	  Sr.	Forward 	WashingtonBrown   	Derrick	  Jr. 	Forward 	XavierBudinger	Chase	  Jr.	Forward 	ArizonaCalathes	Nick	  So.	Guard/Forward	FloridaClark   	Earl	  Jr.	Guard/Forward	LouisvilleCollins 	Sherron	  Jr.	Guard   	KansasCollison	Darren	  Sr.	Guard   	UCLACummard 	Lee	  Sr.	Guard   	Brigham YoungCurry   	Stephen	  Jr.	Guard   	DavidsonDowney  	Devan	  Jr. 	Guard   	South CarolinaDozier  	Robert	  Sr.	Forward 	MemphisEllington	Wayne	  Jr.	Guard   	North CarolinaGibson  	Taj	  Jr.	Forward 	Southern CaliforniaGriffin 	Blake	  So.	Forward 	OklahomaHansbrough	Tyler	  Sr.	Forward 	North CarolinaHarangody	Luke	  Jr.	Forward 	Notre DameHarden  	James	  So.	Guard	        Arizona StateHenderson	Gerald	  Jr. 	Guard/Forward	DukeHeytvelt	Josh	  Sr.	Forward 	GonzagaHudson  	Lester	  Sr.	Guard   	Tennessee-MartinHummel  	Robbie	  So.	Forward 	PurdueJames   	Dominic	  Sr.	Guard   	MarquetteJames   	Damion	  Jr.	Guard/Forward	TexasJerrells	Curtis	  Sr.	Guard   	BaylorLawal   	Gani	  So.	Forward 	Georgia TechLawson  	Ty	  Jr.	Guard   	North CarolinaMaynor  	Eric	  Sr.	Guard   	Virginia CommonwealthMayo    	Josh	  Sr.	Guard   	Illinois-ChicagoMcAlarney	Kyle	  Sr.	Guard   	Notre DameMcClinton	Jack	  Sr.	Guard   	MiamiMcNeal  	Jerel	  Sr.	Guard   	MarquetteMills   	Patrick	  So.	Guard   	Saint Mary'sMoore   	E'Twaun	  So.	Guard   	PurdueMorgan  	Raymar	  Jr.	Forward 	Michigan StateOgilvy  	A.J.	  So.	Center   	VanderbiltPargo   	Jeremy	  Sr.	Guard   	GonzagaPatterson	Patrick	  So.	Forward 	KentuckyPrice   	A.J.	  Sr.	Guard   	ConnecticutReynolds	Scottie	  Jr.	Guard   	VillanovaRice    	Tyrese	  Sr.	Guard   	Boston CollegeSmith   	Tyler	  Jr.	Forward  	TennesseeSteele  	Ronald	  Sr.	Guard    	AlabamaThabeet  	Hasheem	  Jr.	Center  	ConnecticutVaden   	Robert	  Sr.	Guard/Forward	Alabama-BirminghamWilkinson	Gary	  Sr.	Forward 	Utah StateYoung   	Sam	  Sr.	Forward 	Pittsburgh

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder

Before you proceed please complete the captcha below.