Former UA Track And Field Coach Inducted In Hall of Fame

Dec. 18, 2008

Former UA track and field and cross country head coach Dave Murray joined seven others Wednesday night to be inducted into the United State Track and Field and Cross Country Association’s Hall of Fame at the annual USTFCCCA Convention hosted this year in Phoenix, Ariz.


Started in 1995, the Hall of Fame recognizes coaches who have brought great distinction to themselves, to their institutions, and to the sports of cross country and track & field. Each honoree exemplifies the qualities of dedication to the sport, leadership, and passion for their profession that serve as an inspiration to coaches everywhere in every sport.


Held the night before the final day of convention activities, the Hall of Fame ceremony features a dinner and an induction program. Each inductee is recognized with a video presentation, a brief introduction from a close associate, and an acceptance by the inductee or his/her representative.


Murray is a member of the 14th Hall of Fame class and was honored for his distinctive instruction of the UA cross country and track and field teams during his 35-year coaching career at Arizona, beginning in 1967 as a graduate assistant before becoming the Director of Track and Field and Cross Country from 1990 to 2002.

Only two other coaches in history at Arizona held positions longer than Murray. During that time Murray build Arizona into one of the top cross country and track and field programs in the nation coaching numerous All-Americans, NCAA and Pac-10 Conference champions, World Championship competitors, and Olympians.

He was honored by the Pac-10 as the Men's Cross Country Coach of Year eight times throughout his career and was the 1984 NCAA Men's Cross Country National Coach of the Year. Murray was also honored as the District VIII/West Region Coach of the Year six times.

Murray coached four national champions during his tenure at Arizona including Amy Skieresz and Tara Chaplin, the only two Pacific-10 Conference women athletes to earn that distinction.

Recognized as one of the most distinguished coaches in any sport at the University of Arizona, Murray is a member of the Drake Relays Hall of Fame, the Mt. Sac Relays Hall of Fame, and also the University of Arizona Hall of Fame. He was also inducted into the Pima County Sports Hall of Fame in 1997, and also the University of Arizona Kappa Sigma Fraternity Hall of Fame in 1998.


During his career, Murray was actively involved with the NCAA community serving as the President of the Division I Cross Country Coaches Association from 1988-1990, and as president of the women's cross country coaches association from 1981-1982. He also served as a member of the NCAA Executive Committee and as a District VIII representative.


Now on Pac-12 Network
11:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder

Before you proceed please complete the captcha below.