James Harden Named To Naismith Trophy Watch List

Dec. 22, 2008

TEMPE, Ariz. - Arizona State University sophomore guard James Harden has been named to the Early Season Watch List for the 2008-09 Naismith Trophy, which is awarded to the men's college player of the year, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced today.

After earning All-Pac-10 honors as a freshman last year, Harden has continued his stellar play in his second year on campus. He is averaging 24.3 points and 6.8 rebounds per game while shooting 57.5 percent from the field and 79.4 percent from the free throw line to help lead the Sun Devils to a 9-1 start. He has also scored 30 or more points in four of the team's 10 games so far this season, including a career-high 40 in ASU's victory over UTEP on Nov. 30.

The watch list was compiled by the Atlanta Tipoff Club's Board of Selectors, which based its criteria on player performances from the previous year and expectations for the 2008-09 college basketball season. The watch list does not include incoming freshmen, although those student-athletes will be considered in the first vote in February 2009. The Naismith Trophy presented by AT&T will be awarded at the 2009 NCAA Men's Final Four in Detroit, Mich.

In February, the Naismith Trophy voting academy, comprised of leading basketball journalists, coaches and administrators from around the country, will narrow its early season list to the Top 30 players in the nation. Those players, and others who distinguish themselves throughout the season, will be eligible for the final ballot in March.

Notable Naismith Men's College Player of the Year winners include Bill Walton, Larry Bird, Michael Jordan, Patrick Ewing and David Robinson.

2008-09 Naismith Trophy Early Season Watch List:
A.J. Abrams, Sr., Guard, Texas
Jeff Adrien, Sr., Forward, Connecticut
Josh Akognon, Sr., Guard, Cal. St. Fullerton
DeJuan Blair, So., Forward, Pittsburgh
Jon Brockman, Sr., Forward, Washington
Derrick Brown, Jr., Forward, Xavier
Chase Budinger, Jr., Forward, Arizona
Nick Calathes, So., Guard/Forward, Florida
Earl Clark, Jr., Guard/Forward, Louisville
Sherron Collins, Jr., Guard, Kansas
Darren Collison, Sr., Guard, UCLA
Lee Cummard, Sr., Guard, Brigham Young
Stephen Curry, Jr., Guard, Davidson
Devan Downey, Jr., Guard, South Carolina
Robert Dozier, Sr., Forward, Memphis
Wayne Ellington, Jr., Guard, North Carolina
Taj Gibson, Jr., Forward, Southern California
Blake Griffin, So., Forward, Oklahoma
Tyler Hansbrough, Sr., Forward, North Carolina
Luke Harangody, Jr., Forward, Notre Dame
James Harden, So., Guard, Arizona State
Gerald Henderson, Jr., Guard/Forward, Duke
Josh Heytvelt, Sr., Forward, Gonzaga
Lester Hudson, Sr., Guard, University of Tennessee-Martin
Robbie Hummel, So., Forward, Purdue
Dominic James, Sr., Guard, Marquette
Damion James, Jr., Guard/Forward, Texas
Curtis Jerrells, Sr., Guard, Baylor
Gani Lawal, So., Forward, Georgia Tech
Ty Lawson, Jr., Guard, North Carolina
Eric Maynor, Sr., Guard, Virginia Commonwealth
Josh Mayo, Sr., Guard, Illinois-Chicago
Kyle McAlarney, Sr., Guard, Notre Dame
Jack McClinton, Sr., Guard, Miami
Jerel McNeal, Sr., Guard, Marquette
Patrick Mills, So., Guard, Saint Mary's
E'Twaun Moore, So., Guard, Purdue
Raymar Morgan, Jr., Forward, Michigan State
A.J. Ogilvy, So., Center, Vanderbilt
Jeremy Pargo, Sr., Guard, Gonzaga
Patrick Patterson, So., Forward, Kentucky
A.J. Price, Sr., Guard, Connecticut
Scottie Reynolds, Jr., Guard, Villanova
Tyrese Rice, Sr., Guard, Boston College
Tyler Smith, Jr., Forward, Tennessee
Ronald Steele, Sr., Guard, Alabama
Hasheem Thabeet, Jr., Center, Connecticut
Robert Vaden, Sr., Guard/Forward, Alabama-Birmingham
Gary Wilkinson, Sr., Forward, Utah State
Sam Young, Sr., Forward, Pittsburgh

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder