Foluke Akinradewo Earns Third Consecutive Honda Award Nomination

Dec. 24, 2008

Stanford, Calif. - For the third consecutive year, Stanford senior middle blocker Foluke Akinradewo has been named one of four finalists for the Honda Sports Award for volleyball, awarded annually to the top collegiate female athlete in each sport. Akinradewo joins Texas' Destinee Hooker and Penn State's Christa Harmotto and Nicole Fawcett as this year's nominees for the award.

The 6-3 middle blocker was named the Pac-10 Player of the Year for the second year in a row, becoming just the fourth player in Pac-10 history to do so. She led the Stanford squad to a 31-4 record, a third consecutive Pac-10 title and its third straight appearance in the NCAA title match. A four-time All-American, Akinradewo led the Pac-10 with 1.47 blocks per set this season and a .457 hitting percentage, both marks which consistently ranked among the top 10 in the nation. The Plantation, Fla. native finished her Stanford career on Saturday with the best career hitting percentage ever recorded by an NCAA Division I player (.446).

Akinradewo, who was also a nominee in 2006, won the award last season to become the sixth winner from the Stanford program. In addition to Akinradewo, Stanford's Honda Award winners for volleyball include Kristin Folkl (1997), Ogonna Nnamani (2004), Bev Oden (1990) Kim Oden (1985) and Logan Tom (2001, 2002). Including Akinradewo's three, Stanford has had 20 nominations since the program started in 1976-77. In 2004, Nnamani won the Honda-Broderick Cup for Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year. Akinradewo looks to join Tom as a two-time winner this year. Tom, Kim Oden and Akinradewo are the program's only three-time nominees.

Following nationwide balloting, the winner of the 2008-09 Honda Sports Award for volleyball will become a nominee for the Honda-Broderick Cup, awarded annually to the Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year. American Honda will donate $1,000 to the women's athletic fund of each nominee's university, while the university of the winner will receive $5,000.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:45 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder