Ashley Walker on Naismith Trophy Early Season Watch List

Dec. 29, 2008


California Golden Bear senior forward Ashley Walker has been named to the Naismith Trophy Early Season Watch List as a player to contend for this national player of the year honor. Walker is also on the watch lists for the Wooden Award and the State Farm WBCA Wade Trophy, two more player of the year honors.

For the sixth consecutive season, presenting sponsor AT&T will once again set the standard in allowing fans to participate in determining this year's winner. Through the power and ease of text messaging, fan voting will account for an unprecedented 25% of the final results - more than any other national college basketball award.

In February, the Naismith Trophy voting academy, comprised of leading basketball journalists, coaches and administrators from around the country, will narrow its preseason list to the Top 30 players in the nation. Those players, and others who distinguish themselves throughout the season, will be eligible for the final ballot in March.

Named in honor of Dr. James Naismith, founder of the game of basketball, the Naismith Trophy presented by AT&T is awarded annually to the male and female college basketball players of the year. First awarded in 1969 to UCLA's Lew Alcindor, later known as Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, the Naismith Trophy was sculpted by Marty C. Dawe of Atlanta and has become the most prestigious national honors awarded each year to the top men's and women's college basketball players in the nation.

The Naismith Early Season Watch List, compiled by the Atlanta Tipoff Club's Board of Selectors, bases its criteria on player performances from the previous year and expectations for the 2008-09 college basketball season in naming the top candidates for the Naismith Trophy. The watch list does not include incoming freshmen, although those student-athletes will be considered in the first vote in February, 2009. The Naismith Trophy presented by AT&T will be awarded at the 2009 NCAA Women's Final Four in St. Louis, Missouri.

The Atlanta Tipoff Club, an Atlanta Sports Council property, is committed to promoting the game of basketball and recognizing the outstanding accomplishments of those who make the game so exciting. The Atlanta Tipoff Club, founded in 1956, has presented the Naismith Trophy since UCLA's Lew Alcindor first won the award in 1969. Old Dominion's Anne Donovan won the inaugural Women's Naismith Trophy in 1983.

The Naismith Award has become an emblem of excellence for the game, recognizing the Men's and Women's College Basketball Player of the Year, Men's and Women's College Basketball Coach of the Year, as well as awards for outstanding achievement in high school basketball, officiating, and overall contribution to the game.

Last Name First Name Class Position SchoolAllison Rachel Sr. Forward BaylorAppel Jayne Jr. Forward/Center StanfordBarlow Ashley Jr. Guard Notre DameBlack Chante Sr. Center DukeBonner DeWanna Sr. Guard AuburnBowman Heather Jr. Forward GonzagaBrown Arnika So. Forward Western KentuckyCann Jernisha Sr. Forward IUPUICassidy Carlee Jr. Guard Maryland - Baltimore Co.Charles Tina Jr. Center ConnecticutCirone Kristi Sr. Guard Illinois StateClark Alysha Jr. Forward Middle TennesseeColeman Marissa Sr. Guard/Forward MarylandCriner Dellena Sr. Guard NevadaDeHaan Allyssa Jr. Center Michigan StateDeLaHoussaye Tiera Sr. Guard Western MichiganDixon Erin Sr. Forward Texas - ArlingtonEllis Krystal Sr. Guard MarquetteEvans Dawn So. Guard James MadisonFitz Rachele Jr. Forward MaristGuffey Amber Sr. Guard Murray StateHarris Amber Jr. Forward XavierHoughton Britni Jr. Forward Central MichiganHouts Ashley Jr. Guard GeorgiaIbekwe Ify So. Forward ArizonaJackson Amber Sr. Forward North TexasJaeschke Amy So. Center NorthwesternLavender Jantel So. Center Ohio StateLomax Judie So. Forward ColumbiaMarginean Gabriela Jr. Forward DrexelMcCants Rashanda Sr. Guard/Forward North CarolinaMcCoughtry Angel Sr. Forward LouisvilleMitchell Phyllisha Sr. Forward Tennessee-MartinMontgomery Renee Sr. Guard ConnecticutMoore Maya So. Forward ConnecticutParis Courtney Sr. Center OklahomaPhillips Ta'Shia So. Center XavierPrince Epiphanny Jr. Guard RutgersRiley Andrea Jr. Guard Oklahoma StateSmith Jenna Jr. Center IllinoisStarks Takia Sr. Guard Texas A&MToliver Kristi Sr. Guard MarylandVaughn Kia Sr. Center RutgersWalker Ashley Sr. Forward/Center CaliforniaWaner Abby Sr. Guard DukeWarburton Morgan Sr. Guard UtahWirth Christina Sr. Forward VanderbiltWomack Noteisha Sr. Forward Seton HallWright Monica Jr. Guard VirginiaZellous Shavonte Sr. Guard Pittsburgh

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder