Several Beavers Candidates for Oregon Sports Awards

Jan. 15, 2009

Corvallis -

           Oregon State University current student-athletes Jacquizz Rodgers, Saori Haruguchi and Jordan Bishop have been selected as finalists for honors at the 57th annual Oregon Sports Awards Sun., Feb. 8 at the Tiger Woods Center on the Nike World Campus.  The trio is joined by head football coach Mike Riley and former Beaver Jacoby Ellsbury as candidates for awards.


            Rodgers is a candidate for the Bill Hayward Amateur Male Athlete of the Year, which has recently been won by former Beavers Jonah Nickerson, Mike Hass and Steven Jackson.  Rodgers was the first Pac-10 freshman to ever be named the league's Offensive Player of the Year and also earned Freshman of the Year.  The running back gained 1,253 yards and earned several All-America honors.


            Haruguchi earned three All-America honors at last year's NCAA Swimming Championships, including capturing the first ever OSU women's individual title (200 butterfly).  The senior school record holder competed for her native Japan at last summer's Olympic Games and is a candidate for the Bill Hayward Amateur Female Athlete of the Year.  Two Beavers have won this award recently - Brianne McGowan and Felicia Ragland. 


            Bishop is a member of the Beaver football team and redshirted in the 2008 season.  He is a candidate for the Johnny Carpenter Prep Athlete of the Year award after winning the state long jump title in track and earning all-state as a receiver and defensive back his senior year at West Salem High School. 


            Riley is a candidate for the Slats Gill Sportsperson of the Year after leading the football team to its fifth consecutive bowl victory and a tie for second place in the Pac-10 Conference.  His OSU colleague head baseball coach Pat Casey has won this award the three previous years.


            Ellsbury, a former standout Beaver baseball player, is one of five finalists for the Harry Glickman Professional Athlete of the Year.  In his first full season with the Boston Red Sox he led the American League with 50 stolen bases.  The Madras, Ore., native guided OSU to the 2005 College World Series earning the Pac-10 Conference co-Most Valuable Player award in the process.  Former Beaver Steven Jackson has also won this award in recent years.


Several other high school seniors that have committed to Oregon State University are finalists for prep awards as well.


            Tickets are $50 for the event and may be purchased by calling 503-721-7477 (ext. 12) or via email at  For more information follow this link



Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder

Before you proceed please complete the captcha below.