Three Bruins Advance to Super Bowl XLIII

Jan. 18, 2009

Three players will represent UCLA in Super Bowl XLIII on February 1, 2009.

Matt Ware, who started at cornerback for the Bruins for three years (2001 - 2003), is a reserve cornerback for the NFC Champion Arizona Cardinals. This will be Ware's second Super Bowl, having played for the Philadelphia Eagles in 2005.

Travis Kirschke and Bruce Davis are members of the AFC Champion Pittsburgh Steelers. Kirschke, who was a starting defensive tackle during his four-year UCLA career (1993-96), is a reserve defensive lineman for the Steelers. He also played in Super Bowl XL (2006) for Pittsburgh. Davis, who earned All-America honors as a defensive end for the Bruins a year ago, is a reserve linebacker who played in a few games in 2008.

UCLA will have at least one player in the Super Bowl for the 28th time in 30 years. Beginning with Super Bowl XIV (1980), only the games in 2000 and 2008 did not have at least one Bruin on a team roster.

In Super Bowl XXVII (1993), eight Bruins were featured in the contest, including five on the champion Dallas Cowboys and three on the Buffalo Bills.

College football and NFL Hall of Famer Troy Aikman was the first quarterback to start for three Super Bowl champions in a four-year span and Bruin defensive lineman Mike Lodish played for six Super Bowl teams during his NFL career.

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder

Before you proceed please complete the captcha below.