Fans to Help Select Cal's All-Century Team

Jan. 20, 2009


As part of the celebration of the 100th season of California men’s basketball in 2008-09, the Cal Athletic Department is asking for fan input to select the Golden Bears’ All-Century team. A total of 30 players will be chosen for the squad, which will be unveiled during Cal’s final home weekend Feb. 26-28.

Players who earned All-America honors (1st team, 2nd team or 3rd team) or Conference Player of the Year recognition – a total of 19 – receive an automatic berth on the All-Century team, and fans will determine the final 11. Each fan will be permitted to vote one time and voting will conclude on Monday, Feb. 23.

To vote, fans can select the All-Century team link at

The list of nominees stretches back through every decade to the 1920s, when the first Golden Bears earned All-America honors, through the present day. Fans are also welcome to submit write-in candidates for the All-Century team.

Entering Cal’s 100th season in 2008-09, the Bears had compiled a 1371-1049 overall record. Cal has participated in the NCAA Tournament 14 times, winning the title in 1959 and finishing as runner-up in 1960. The Bears also advanced to the Final Four in 1946, reached the regional final in both 1957 and ’58 and made the Sweet 16 in 1993 and ’97. In addition, Cal captured the NIT championship in 1999.


Automatic Selections to Cal’s All-Century Team
Shareef Abdur-Rahim (1996) - Pac-10 Player of the Year, Olympic gold medalist
Ryan Anderson (2007-08) - 2nd team All-American
Vern Corbin (1927-29) - 1st team All-American
Russ Critchfield (1966-68) - 1st team All-American
George Dixon (1926-27) - 1st team All-American
Hal Eifert (1932-34) - 1st team All-American
Larry Friend (1955-57) - 1st team All-American
Ed Gray (1996-97) - Pac-10 Player of the Year, 3rd team All-American
Darrall Imhoff (1958-60) - 1st team All-American, Olympic gold medalist
Jason Kidd (1993-94) - Pac-10 Player of the Year, 1st team All-American, Olympic gold medalist
Joe Kintana (1931-32) - 1st team All-American
Sean Lampley (1998-01) - Pac-10 Player of the Year
Bob Matheny (1950-54) - 3rd team All-American
Bob McKeen (1952-55) - 1st team All-American
Mark McNamara (1981-82) - 3rd team All-American
Lamond Murray (1992-94) - 2nd team All-American
Leon Powe (2004-06) - 2nd team All-American
Earl Shultz (1959-61) - 3rd team All-American
Andy Wolfe (1946-48) - 1st team All-American

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder