Charters, Lawrie Named to Player of the Year Watch List

Jan. 28, 2009

OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. - Washington senior infielder Ashley Charters and junior pitcher Danielle Lawrie were two of 50 players named to the 'Watch List' for the 8th Annual USA Softball National College Player of the Year Award, as announced by the Amateur Softball Association of America (ASA) on Wednesday.

The two-time All-American Charters (Beaverton, Ore.) was named to the same watch list last season before having to redshirt the season due to an injury. She was named First-Team All-Pac-10 and Second Team All-American in 2007, leading the Huskies back to the College World Series where she was named to the All-Tournament Team. She was also named to the Top 50 Watch List prior to the 2007 and 2006 seasons.

Lawrie (Langley, British Columbia), an All-American in 2007, redshirted last season as well while she trained with the Canadian National Team and competed in the 2008 Olympic Games. The First Team All-Pac-10 selection and First-Team All-American was one of 25 finalists in 2007 for the USA Softball Player of the Year award. She went on to pitch a no-hitter and a one-hitter in the 2007 College World Series to lead the Huskies into the national semifinals. She was also the lone freshman on the 2006 Top 50 Player of the Year Watch List.

The award, which is considered the most prestigious honors in Division I women's collegiate softball, is designed to recognize outstanding athletic achievement by female collegiate softball players across the country. Past winners of this award include Olympic gold medalist Stacey Nuveman from UCLA, Florida State's Jessica Van der Linden, three-time winner Texas pitcher Cat Osterman, Tennessee's Monica Abbott and Virginia Tech's Angela Tincher.

The 2009 Pre-Season Watch List is comprised of 50 players representing 32 schools and 13 different NCAA Division I Conferences. The ASA will announce the 25 finalists on April 1. A player does not have to appear on the initial watch list to be considered as a top 25 finalist. However, once the top 25 finalists are named the winner of the award will come from that list.

Just days before the start of post-season play, a list of 10 finalists will be named and released on May 6. The final three finalists will be announced May 20 while the winner of the 2009 USA Softball National Collegiate Player of the Year Award will be announced prior to the start of the 2009 NCAA Women's College World Series in Oklahoma City.

The Huskies were one of 14 teams with at least two players on the list. Four teams had three players named, including Alabama, Florida, Michigan and UCLA. A total of 13 Pac-10 players were on the list, including three from UCLA, two each from Arizona, Arizona State, Stanford and Washington and one each from California and Oregon.

Top 50 Watch List - USA Softball National College Player of the Year Award

Pac-10 Players
Brittany Lastrapes (Arizona) - Sophomore - Outfield - Laguna Niguel, Calif.
Jenae Leles (Arizona) - Senior - Third Base - Fair Oaks, Calif.
Kaitlin Cochran (Arizona State) - Senior- Outfield - Yorba Linda, Calif.
Krista Donnenwirth (Arizona State) - Sophomore - SS/Third Base - Mission Viejo, Calif.
Valerie Arioto (California) - Sophomore - Utility - Pleasanton, Calif.
Neena Bryant (Oregon) - Outfield - Junior - Placentia, Calif.
Alissa Haber (Stanford) - Junior - Outfield - Newark, Calif.
Missy Penna (Stanford) - Senior - Pitcher/Infield - Miami, Fla.
GiOnna DiSalvatore (UCLA) - Sophomore - Utility - Palm Harbor, Fla.
Amanda Kamekona (UCLA) - Senior - Infield - Chino Hills, Calif.
Megan Langenfeld (UCLA) - Junior - Pitcher/First Base - Bakersfield, Calif.
Ashley Charters (Washington) - Senior - Infield - Beaverton, Ore.
Danielle Lawrie (Washington) - Junior - Pitcher - Langley, British Columbia

Other Players
Kelley Montalvo (Alabama) - Senior - Utility - Miami, Fla.
Charlotte Morgan (Alabama) - Junior - Pitcher/Utility - Moreno Valley, Calif.
Brittany Rogers (Alabama) - Senior - Outfield - Dacula, Ga.
Brette Reagan (Baylor) - Senior - Infield - Magnolia, Texas
Becca Heteniak (DePaul) - Junior - Pitcher - Simi Valley, Calif.
Megan Patton (DePaul) - Senior - Third Base - Forsyth, Ill.
Ali Gardiner (Florida) - Senior - First Base - Waccabuc, N.Y.
Stacey Nelson (Florida) - Senior - Pitcher - Los Alamitos, Calif.
Kim Waleszonia (Florida) - Senior - Outfield - Fontana, Calif.
Morgan Melloh (Fresno State) - Sophomore - Pitcher - Fishers, Ind.
Haley Perkins (Fresno State) - Senior - Infield - Fresno, Calif.
Megan Wiggins (Georgia) - Sophomore - Infield - Snellville, Ga.
Jen Yee (Georgia Tech) - Junior - Second Base - North Delta, British Columbia
Jessica Valis (Houston) - Senior - Infield - Shiner, Texas
Laurie Wagner (Houston) - Senior - Outfield - Houston, Texas
Kara Nelson (Illinois State) - Junior - Third Base - Moline, Ill.
Ashley Brignac (Louisiana-Lafayette) - Sophomore - Pitcher - River Ridge, La.
Rachel Mitchell (LSU) - Junior - Outfield - LaPorte, Texas
Kirsten Shortridge (LSU) - Junior - Pitcher/Outfield - Keller, Texas
Brooke Turner (Long Beach State) - Sophomore - Pitcher - Buena Park, Calif.
Brandice Balschmiter (Massachusetts) - Senior - Pitcher - Newark, N.Y.
Angela Findlay (Michigan) - Junior - Outfield - Lockport, Ill.
Nikki Nemitz (Michigan) - Junior - Pitcher - St. Clair Shores, Mich.
Jordan Taylor (Michigan) - Sophomore - Pitcher - Valencia, Calif.
Lauren Grill (Mississippi) - Junior - Infield - Tualatin, Ore.
Chelsea Bramlett (Mississippi State) - Junior - Catcher/Infield - Cordova, Tenn.
Rhea Taylor (Missouri) - Sophomore - Outfield - Buford, Ga.
Robin Mackin (Nebraska) - Junior - Pitcher - Newmarket, Ontario
Noelle Micka (Nevada) - Sophomore - Catcher - Garden Grove, Calif.
Danielle Spaulding (North Carolina) - Junior - First Base/Pitcher - Rancho Cucamonga, Calif.
Lauren Delaney (Northwestern) - Junior - Pitcher - Jefferson City, Mo.
Tammy Williams (Northwestern) - Senior - Infield - Roscoe, Mo.
Sam Marder (Ohio State) - Junior - Catcher - Calabasas, Calif.
DJ Mathis (Oklahoma) - Senior - Pitcher - East Alton, Ill.
Samantha Ricketts (Oklahoma) - Senior - First Base - San Jose, Calif.
Jamie Schloredt (Sacramento State) - Senior - Catcher - Woodland, Calif.
Tiffany Huff (Tennessee) - Junior - Catcher/First Base - Saugus, Calif.

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network