Stanford To Host 2011 NCAA Tennis Championships

Feb. 9, 2009

STANFORD, Calif.- Stanford University and the Taube Family Tennis Center will serve as the host site for the 2011 NCAA Division I Men's and Women's Tennis Championships, the NCAA announced on Monday.

The top collegiate tennis teams and student-athletes from across the country will arrive on The Farm to showcase their talents and compete for national titles.

Recognized as perhaps the finest facility in collegiate tennis, The Taube Family Tennis Center played host to the first-ever combined men's and women's NCAA Tennis Championships in 2006. In addition, the facility has hosted the women's NCAA Championships four times (1991, 1992, 1997, 2002).

'We are deeply honored and appreciative of the opportunity to be selected once again to host the NCAA Men's and Women's Tennis Championships in 2001,' said Stanford Director of Tennis Dick Gould. 'How exciting it is that we join the University of Georgia (2010 and 2012) to present the world's most outstanding amateur tennis event. We look forward to the challenge of making this a very special event, not only for the participating student-athletes, but for all Northern California tennis fans.'

The host Cardinal has claimed several national championships of its own. The men's team has captured 17 NCAA titles, collecting the hardware most recently in 2000 with a 4-0 victory over VCU in Athens, Ga. The women's squad has won 15 of the 27 NCAA championships, including a run of three in a row from 2004-06.

'The committee was delighted to see the number of quality bids from institutions who have a commitment to growing collegiate tennis and a desire to provide student-athletes with a truly memorable experience,' said Sybil Blalock, Division I Men's and Women's Tennis Committee chair. 'While the decision was a difficult one, Georgia and Stanford have a well-known tradition in collegiate tennis along with having previous experience hosting the combined championships format. The committee looks forward to working with both institutions over the next three years and is confident that players and fans alike will leave these sites having had great championships experiences.'

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder