Clayton Awarded ITA Sportsmanship Award

Feb. 16, 2009

Full Release from the ITA

CHICAGO - Alex Clayton of Stanford University received the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) Sportsmanship Award Sunday at the ITA National Men's Team Indoor Championships, hosted by the University of Illinois at Midtown Tennis Club.

Clayton, a sophomore from Ft. Lauderdale, Fla. was chosen for this annual award by the 16 participating coaches for displaying outstanding sportsmanship and exemplifying the spirit of college tennis during the course of the Team Indoor Championships as well as throughout his career.

Clayton plays No. 1 singles and No. 3 doubles for the Cardinal. He is currently ranked No. 33 in the ITA national singles rankings with a record of 17-4, while he and partner Bradley Kahn have accumulated a 5-2 record in doubles. Stanford has advanced to the semifinals of the ITA National Team Indoors with victories over No. 7 Florida in the first round and No. 2 Texas in the quarterfinals.

Clayton is the sixth Stanford player to win this award in the 18 years it has been presented and the first since 2002.

The ITA National Team Indoor Championships will conclude tomorrow with the championship match scheduled for 12:00 p.m. (CT).

Past ITA Sportsmanship Award Winners:
2008 - Erling Tveit, Mississippi
2007 - Luke Shields, Boise State
2006 - Jonathan Stokke, Duke
2005 - Hamid Mirzadeh, Florida
2004 - Chris Lam, UCLA
2003 - Rajeev Ram, Illinois
2002 - David Martin, Stanford
2001 - Jimmy Haney, TCU
2000 - Ramsey Smith, Duke
1999 - Ryan Wolters, Stanford
1998 - Thomas Blake, Harvard
1997 - Eddie Jacques, Georgia
1996 - Jeff Salzenstein, Stanford
1995 - Paul Goldstein, Stanford
1994 - Michael Hopkinson, Kentucky
1993 - Chris Woodruff, Tennessee
1992 - Jason Yee, Stanford

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder

Before you proceed please complete the captcha below.