Eight Former Bruins Tee It Up at Riviera This Week

Feb. 18, 2009

Eight former UCLA golfers will tee it up at the Northern Trust Open this week at the Riviera Country Club in Pacific Palisades beginning on Thursday.

Led by two-time champion Corey Pavin and 2008 NCAA individual champion Kevin Chappell, the group represents the largest contingent from any university.

Pavin, a 27-year Tour professional, won the Nissan Los Angeles Open at Riviera in 1994 and '95, the year he won the U.S. Open at Shinnecock Hills on Long Island, NY. In December, Pavin was named the U.S. Ryder Cup captain for 2010. A three-time All-American at UCLA, Pavin earned the college player of the year as a senior in 1982.

Tom Pernice Jr., (UCLA '82), has been a PGA Tour professional for 26 years and has won nearly $13 million, including two career victories. At UCLA he was a four-year letterman and a two-time All-American.

Brandt Jobe (UCLA '88) was a two-time All-American at UCLA and one of the leaders of the Bruins' 1988 NCAA championship team. A 21-year touring professional, he has earned more then $6 million and has won 11 tournaments worldwide.

Steve Pate won the 1983 Pac-10 title and earned first-team All-America honors that season. He has been a tour pro for more than 20 years and was a captain's pick on the victorious 1999 U.S. Ryder Cup Team.

Scott McCarron (UCLA '88) has been a Tour professional since 1992 and has earned more than $10 million with three career victories.

A 2002 UCLA graduate, Parker McLachlin is entering his sixth year as a professional golfer. Last year he won the Reno-Tahoe Invitational, his first PGA Tour victory.

John Merrick graduated from UCLA in 2004 after winning the 2003 Pac-10 Championship and earning All-America honors twice. Last year at the U.S. Open at Torrey Pines, he finished fifth.

Finally, Kevin Chappell earned the right to play in the NTO by tying for sixth place at last week's AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am. Chappell led the Bruins to the 2008 NCAA team championship and became the first UCLA player to win NCAA medalist honors.

For a complete list of tee times in the first and second rounds, click here.

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder