2009 Pac-10 Diving Championships Open Wednesday, Feb. 25

Feb. 19, 2009

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader



WHAT: Pacific-10 Conference Men's and Women's Diving Championships.

WHERE: Weyerhaeuser King County Aquatics Center, Federal Way, Wash.

WHEN: Wednesday, Feb. 25 - Saturday, Feb. 28, 2009.

WHO: Teams from ARIZONA, ARIZONA STATE, CALIFORNIA, STANFORD and USC will compete for the 2009 Pac-10 Men's Diving Championship, while teams from ARIZONA, ARIZONA STATE, CALIFORNIA, STANFORD, UCLA and USC will compete for the 2009 Pac-10 Women's Diving Championship.

TICKETS: Admission to the 2009 Pacific-10 Conference Diving Championship is free on Wednesday, Feb. 25. An all session pass can be purchased for $25 for an adult or $15 for a student with ID/senior. One day passes can also be bought for $10 for adults and $6 for students with ID/seniors.

MEDIA CONTACT: The University of Washington sports information office will handle publicity for the 2009 Diving Championships. Rosie Leutzinger, Washington's swimming contact, can be reached at (206) 685-3119.

MEET RESULTS: At the conclusion of the event, results will posted on the Pac-10 web site (www.pac-10.org), as well as on Washington's web site (www.gohuskies.com). Please contact Regina Verlengiere at the Pacific-10 Conference office for more information.


Wed., Feb. 25
3:30 p.m., Men's 1 Meter Preliminary
6 p.m., Men's 1 Meter Finals

Thur., Feb. 26
11 a.m., Women's 1 Meter Preliminary, Men's 3 Meter Preliminary, Men's 3 Meter Finals
6 p.m., Women's 1 Meter Finals

Fri., Feb. 27
11 a.m., Women's 3 Meter Preliminary, Men's Platform Preliminary, Men's Platform Finals
6 p.m., Women's 3 Meter Finals

Sat., Feb. 28
11 a.m., Women's Platform Preliminary
6 p.m., Women's Platform Finals


The 28th Annual NCAA Women's Swimming and Diving Championships will take place Thurs., Mar. 19 through Sat., Mar. 21 at the Student Recreation Center Natatorium in College Station, Texas.

The 87th Annual NCAA Men's Swimming and Diving Championships will take place Thurs., Mar. 26 through Sat., Mar. 28 at the Student Recreation Center Natatorium in College Station, Texas.


Last year in men's diving, Arizona State's Micky Benedetti, the reigning two-time Pac-10 Diver of the Year, swept the diving competitions at the Pac-10 Championships in Federal Way, Wash. Benedetti became only the eighth diver to win all three events at the Championships since the platform was added in 1988. The six-time Pac-10 Diver of the Month went on to win the 3-meter and platform titles at the NCAA Zone-E Championships.

Arizona freshman Ben Grado earned the 2008 Pac-10 Diving Newcomer of the Year honors after turning in an impressive rookie season. The Conifer, Calif., native finished in the top 5 in all three events at his first Pac-10 Championships. Grado's score of 358.85 on the 1-meter earned him second place in the event. He also placed third on the 3-meter and fifth on the platform.

In his 11th year at Arizona State, Mark Bradshaw helped guide the Sun Devil swimming & diving team to a fourth-place finish at the Pac-10 Championships and an 18th-place finish at the NCAA Championships. Bradshaw, who has earned two NCAA Diving Coach of the Year awards, has been named the Pac-10 Men's Diving Coach of the Year the past six seasons.


Stanford freshman Meg Hostage took home both Diver and Newcomer of the Year honors. The Potomac, Md., native was dominate during her first year of collegiate competition. At the Pac-10 Championships, Hostage was named Pac-10 Diver of the Meet after taking the 3-meter title and finishing second on the 1-meter. Her success continued at the NCAA Zone E Championships, qualifying her for the NCAA Championships. Hostage placed first on the 1-meter at the Zone E meet with a score of 577.05 on the first day of the event. She went on to finish third on the 3-meter. At the NCAA Championships, Hostage was the runner-up on the platform with a score of 347.20. She also finished 13th on the 1-meter with a score of 283.30.

The Pac-10 Women's Diving Coach of the Year was awarded to Rick Schavone of Stanford. In 30 years, Schavone has led the Cardinal to a combined 37 men's and women's Pac-10 diving titles. With Hostage being the latest addition, Schavone has had at least one All-American on the women's side for 14 straight seasons and 26 of his the last 27 years. The Women's Diving Coach of the Year award is Schavone's sixth time receiving the honor and he also garnered the Pac-10 Men's Diving Coach of the Year award during the 1994-95 campaign. The Cardinal finished the year with a third-place finish at the NCAA Championships, while taking the top spot in the Conference.

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder