Cats Start Strong at Pac-10 Championships

Feb. 25, 2009

FEDERAL WAY, Wash. – The Arizona women’s swimming team got off to a quick start tonight, winning the 200 medley relay with the team of Hailey DeGolia, Annie Chandler, Lara Jackson and Lindsey Kelly posting an NCAA automatic qualifying time of 1:36.53 at the Weyerhaeuser King County Aquatic Center.


The night opened with the 200 medley relay followed by the men’s one-meter diving event and concluded with the women’s 800 freestyle relay.


In heat two of three during the 200 medley relay, Arizona’s B and C teams finished first and second as well. But it was Arizona’s A squad garnering the top time as Kelly, swimming freestyle, touched ahead of swimmers from Stanford, California and Washington. Stanford would later be disqualified and awarded no points.


The 200 medley relay win gave Arizona 64 points to take an early edge over Cal.


In the men’s one-meter dive, Ben Grado placed fifth among eight finalists during the competition with a final score of 339.20. Dwight Dumais of Stanford would go onto win the event with a score of 383.05


The 800 freestyle relay was the final event during the championship’s opening night. Dana Vollmer of California set a new American, NCAA and Pac-10 record in the 200 freestyle in route to California winning the event in 6:56.87.  Arizona’s team of Justine Schluntz, Leone Vorster, Alyssa Anderson and Taylor Baughman finished fourth with a time of 7:10.38.


California currently leads after two events with 120 points followed by Arizona with 116 and USC with 106.


Tomorrow Arizona will be competing in the 500 freestyle, 200 individual medley, 50 freestyle, one meter dive and 200 freestyle relay on the women’s side and three-meter dive for men. Finals begin at 7 p.m. MST.


Now on Pac-12 Network
3:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder

Before you proceed please complete the captcha below.