Romar Named National Coach of the Year Finalist

March 2, 2009

BOSTON, Mass. - After leading the Huskies to at least a share of their first Pac-10 co-championship since 1985, University of Washington men's basketball coach Lorenzo Romar was named one of ten finalists for the 2009 Jim Phelan National Coach of the Year Award.

The ten finalists are Romar, Jim Calhoun (Connecticut), John Calipari (Memphis), Jamie Dixon (Pittsburgh), Darrin Horn (South Carolina), Trent Johnson (LSU), Bill Self (Kansas), Brad Stevens (Butler), Bruce Weber (Illinois) and Roy Williams (North Carolina).

'This is an outstanding group of coaches,' said Jim Phelan who is the chairman of the award committee. 'Every one of the coaches on the list is deserving of coach of the year honors.'

The Jim Phelan Award is given annually to the nation?s top coach, as voted on by the 20-member panel. The winner will be presented with the award at the 2009 Final Four in Detroit.

For more information on the award, click here.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder