Men's Crew to Kick off 2009 Spring Season at Victoria

March 4, 2009

CORVALLIS, Ore. – The Oregon State men’s crew will begin their 2009 spring campaign when they travel to British Columbia to take on their rivals from the University of Victoria in a dual race on Saturday, March 7.


“We are ready to get things started,” said Oregon State head coach Steve Todd. “It will be a good start to the year. The guys are excited to get up to Canada and race and we expect to get the season off to a strong start.”


The meeting will be the fourth consecutive year in which the two schools have met on the water, the most recent being an Oregon State sweep on Dexter Lake to open the 2008 spring season. The Vikes are coming off of a season that resulted in a fourth place team finish at the 2008 Canadian University Rowing Championship. This race will be Victoria’s second of the spring season, the first being a victory in the Elk Lake Spring Regatta, where they defeated the Victoria Training Center crew by six seconds on an 1,850 meter course.


The Beavers will travel to Victoria with four crews. The Varsity 8+ will be led by returning senior coxswain Beth Olsen and team captain Ian George. In addition to the Victoria crew, the V8+ will also face competition from the University of British Columbia. Both schools varsity crews finished in the top three of the Canadian University Championships, where the British Columbia crew placed second and was followed by the Victoria crew who was a mere two seconds behind.


In addition to the V8+, Oregon State will bring a Freshman 8+ crew, as well as a Varsity 4+ and Freshman 4+ to compete in dual races against Victoria. Racing will begin at 9 a.m. on Elk Lake in temperatures that are expected to be around 35 degrees.


Check back with for results from the weekend of racing.



Varsity 8+

Cox: Beth Olsen

S: Ian George

7: Mike Buckiewicz

6: David Weir

5: Evan Peterson

4: Rob Hannah

3: Campbell Woods

2: Robby Ewing

B: Bronson Shafer


Freshman 8+

Cox: Dan Thompson

S: Chad Swenson

7: Rory O’Byrne

6: Wyatt Worrel

5: Andrew read

4: Trae Wells

3: Trevor Carey

2: Pat Kohan

B: Spencer Robertson


Varsity 4+

Cox: Stefan Evano

S: Joe Wainwright

3: Marcus Timo

2: Kenneth Walker

B: Sam Schwartz


Freshman 4+

Cox: Jenna Schardt

S: Aaron Kruse

3: Drew Wilkerson

2: Jon Gallion

B: Danny Galver


Support Oregon State University Athletics by making your tax deductible donation to the Beaver Athletic Student Fund.  For more information follow this link or call 541-737-2370.  You can make an “everyday champion.”  Follow Beaver Athletics on twitter.

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder

Before you proceed please complete the captcha below.