Former Stanford Great Ken Margerum Included on the College Football Hall of Fame Ballot

March 5, 2009

STANFORD, Calif. - Two-time All-America wide receiver Ken Margerum is one of 76 former collegiate players who will comprise the 2009 Football Bowl Subdivision Ballot for induction into the College Football Hall of Fame.

A four-year letterwinner from 1977-80, Margerum finished his collegiate career as the school's all-time leading receiver with 141 receptions for 2,430 yards and 30 receiving touchdowns. The Fountain Valley, Calif. native still ranks first on Stanford's career charts for receiving touchdowns and is 10th in career receptions.

He also holds three of the top five spots on the school's all-time single-season list for receiving touchdowns and still ranks seventh on the single-season top 10 fo receiving yardage.

A three-time Pac-10 Conference first team selection, Margerum still shares the Pac-10 record for most touchdown receptions in a single-game (4 vs. Oregon State, 1980) and his 30 career TD receptions set a conference record, which has since been broken.

Margerum was a consensus two-time first team AP and UPI All-American in 1979 and 1980. He was the first Stanford player to earn consensus All-America honors as a junior since Bill McColl in 1950. He is also Stanford's only two-time All-American at the wide receiver position.

Margerum was a key member of two bowl-winning teams. As a freshman, he helped Stanford to a 24-14 win over LSU in the 1977 Sun Bowl. A year later, Stanford knocked off Georgia in the 1978 Bluebonnet Bowl and finished the season ranked 15th in the final AP poll.

A third round draft pick by the Chicago Bears in 1981, Margerum enjoyed a seven-year NFL career with the Bears (1981-86) and San Francisco 49ers (1986-87). He earned a Super Bowl ring with the Bears in Super Bowl XX.

Margerum currently serves as the wide receivers coach at San Jose State.

The ballot will be mailed this week to the more than 12,000 NFF members and current Hall of Famers whose votes will be tabulated and submitted to the NFF's Honors Court, which deliberates and selects the class. Chaired by Gene Corrigan, a former ACC Commissioner and NCAA president, the 13-member NFF Honors Court includes an elite and geographically diverse pool of athletics directors, conference commissioners, Hall of Famers and members of the media.

'It's an enormous honor to just be on the ballot when you think that more than 4.6 million people have played college football,' said NFF President & CEO Steven J. Hatchell. 'The Hall's requirement of being a first team All-American creates a much smaller pool of only 1,900 individuals who are even eligible to be on the ballot, so being in today's group of 76 names means an individual is truly among the greatest to ever have played the game, and we are proud to announce their names today.'

The FBS Hall of Fame Class will be announced live on ESPNEWS at a press conference in New York City on April 30 and inducted at The National Football Foundation's Annual Awards Dinner on December 8, 2009 at the landmark Waldorf-Astoria Hotel also in New York City. They will be officially enshrined at the Hall of Fame in South Bend, Ind. in the summer of 2010.

To be eligible for the ballot, players must have been named a first team All-America by a major/national selector as recognized and utilized by the NCAA for their consensus All-America teams; played their last year of intercollegiate football at least ten years prior; played within the last 50 years and cannot be currently playing professional football. Coaches must have coached a minimum of 10 years and 100 games as a head coach; won at least 60% of their games; and be retired from coaching for at least three years; be retired from coaching and over the age of 70 (no waiting period); or over the age of 75 (active coaches eligible). In both cases, the candidate's post-football record as a citizen may also be weighed.

Once nominated for consideration, all player candidates are submitted to one of eight District Screening Committees, depending on their school's geographic location, which conducts a vote to determine who will appear on the ballot and represent their respective districts. Each year, approximately 15 candidates, who are not selected for the Hall of Fame, will be named automatic holdovers and will bypass the district screening process and automatically appear on the ballot the following year. Additionally, the Veterans Committee (formerly known as the Honors Review Committee) may make recommendations to Honors Court for exceptions that allow for the induction of players who played more than 50 years ago and coaches who have not won at least 60 percent of their games.

Of the 4.6 million individuals who have played college football, only 846 players have earned induction into the College Football Hall of Fame. From the coaching ranks, 182 individuals have achieved Hall of Fame distinction.

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network