No. 1 Stanford Captures 28th Consecutive Pac-10 Title

March 7, 2009

Complete Results

Long Beach, Calif. - For a 28th consecutive season the Stanford men's swimming team captured a Pac-10 title. The Cardinal extended a record that already was the best of any sport by defeating the competition with a score of 918.5 points, while California finished second with 866 points.

On the final day of the Pac-10 Championships, the Cardinal captured three individual titles as well as a relay. Chad La Tourette, Eugene Godsoe and Bobby Bollier all captured individual titles for the Cardinal, in addition to their relay title.

La Tourette led off the evening by winning the Pac-10 title in the 1,650 free with a time of 14:39.01. The time was the third-fastest of all-time for the Cardinal.

The Cardinal were well represented in the final by three other swimmers. Trevor Scheid finished third with a time of 14:49.88, while David Mosko finished fourth with a time of 14:50.33. Also placing in the championship final was Josh Charnin-Aker who finished sixth with a time of 15:08.68.

The second Pac-10 title of the evening was the second of the meet for Eugene Godsoe. Already the winner of the 100 back, Godsoe double his fortune with a win in the 200 back. Godsoe captured the title with meet record time of 1:40.51.

In the consolation final Rob Andrews finished 15th with a time of 146.65.

The final individual conference championship came from freshman Bobby Bollier in the 200 fly. Bollier swam a time of 1:42.92, which was the third-fastest all-time at Stanford. David Mosko also fared well in the championship final with a time of 1:43.65 to finish fourth.

Phillip Morrison paced the consolation final with a 12th place finish in a time of 1:46.40.

The Cardinal were well represented in the 100 free with three in the top five. Austin Staab led Stanford with his second-place finish in a time of 42.35. Just behind Staab were Jake Allen in third with a time of 42.46 and Alex Coville in fifth with a time of 42.72.

In the consolation final, Jason Dunford finished ninth with a time of 43.06, while his brother David Dunford finished 11th with a time of 43.45. Also placing was Andrew Trepp in 13th with a time of 43.66.

The Cardinal received more points in the 200 breast where three swimmers placed in the top six. Defending NCAA Champion Paul Kornfeld led the way with his fourth place finish with a time of 1:54.60. Trailing Kornfeld were Curtis Lovelace in fifth with a time of 1:54.79 and John Criste in sixth with a time of 1:54.87.

Stanford was also well represented in the consolation final with Nate Cass placing 10th with a time of 1:56.07 and Paul Zaich placing 12th with a time of 1:57.03.

Finally in the 400 free relay, Stanford established their Pac-10 dominance. The team of Alex Coville, Allen, Jason Dunford and David Dunford won with a Pac-10 record of 2:48.32.

The Cardinal have now won a total of 28 consecutive Pac-10 Championships, which is a record in any sport. No. 1 Stanford will now look to take on the rest of the nation at the NCAA Championships from March 26-28.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder