Stanford Captures Ninth-Straight Pac-10 Regular-Season Women's Basketball Crown

March 7, 2009

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

Complete Tournament Bracket in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

  • Tournament Central:

    WALNUT CREEK, Calif. -- With a win on Saturday on the final day of the Pac-10 regular season, Stanford clinched sole possession of its ninth-straight Conference title, also clinching the top seed in the State Farm Pac-10 Women's Basketball Tournament, which takes place Thursday-Sunday, March 12-15 at Galen Center in Los Angeles.

    Ranked second in the nation, the Cardinal captured the crown going 17-1 during Pac-10 play. Ninth-ranked California and No. 18 Arizona State enter the tournament with identical 15-3 records in Conference play, but the Golden Bears claim the No. 2 seed, while the Sun Devils are No. 3.

    UCLA, Oregon State and USC all finished with 9-9 records, but the Bruins will be the No. 4 seed, the Beavers are the No. 5 seed and USC is the sixth seed. The No. 5 seeding for OSU matches its highest seeding in the history of the eight-year tournament.

    The seventh seed will go to Oregon, who stands at 5-13, while Washington State (4-14) is the eighth seed and Arizona (4-14) is the ninth seed because of tie breaker rules. Washington (3-15) rounds out the bracket at No. 10.

    The State Farm Pac-10 Women's Basketball Tournament is in its eighth season, with Stanford winning the title five times. Arizona State won the tournament crown in the inaugural season in 2002, and UCLA upset the Cardinal in 2006 to win the title.

    The first-round games tip off with #7 Oregon and #10 Washington on Thursday, March 12 at 6 p.m., followed by #8 Washington State and #9 Arizona at 8:15 p.m. Quarterfinal action begins at 11 a.m. on Friday, March 13 with #3 ASU and #6 USC tipping off at 11 a.m. #2 Cal will play the winer of Oregon-Washington at 1:15 p.m. At 5 p.m., the Cardinal face the winner of the Cougars and the Wildcats, with the final game of the day pitting #4 UCLA and #5 Oregon State at 7:15 p.m. Live streaming for all six games will be available at

    Both the semifinal and championship games will be nationally televised on Fox Sports Net on Saturday, March 14 at 6 p.m. and 8:30 p.m., and the champion will be crowned on Sunday, March 15 at 6 p.m.

    Tickets for the four-day event are still available for purchase through the Galen Center Ticket Office at (213) 740-GOSC (4672), or by visiting or

    Thursday-Sunday, March 12-15
    Galen Center, Los Angeles, Calif.

    Thursday, March 12
    Game 1: #7 Oregon (5-13) vs. #10 Washington (3-15), 6 p.m. • Live video stream on
    Game 2: #8 Washington State (4-14) vs. #9 Arizona (4-14), 8:15 p.m. • Live video stream on

    Friday, March 13
    Game 3: #3 Arizona State (15-3) vs. #6 USC (9-9), 11 a.m. • Live video stream on
    Game 4: #2 California (15-3) vs. Game 1 winner, 1:15 p.m. • Live video stream on
    Game 5: #1 Stanford (17-1) vs. Game 2 winner, 5 p.m. • Live video stream on
    Game 6: #4 UCLA (9-9) vs. #5 Oregon State (9-9), 7:15 p.m. • Live video stream on

    Saturday, March 14
    Game 7: Semifinal 1, 6 p.m. • Fox Sports Net (FSN)
    Game 8: Semifinal 2, 8:30 p.m. • Fox Sports Net (FSN)

    Sunday, March 15
    Championship game, 6 p.m. • Fox Sports Net (FSN)

    All times Pacific.

  • Categories:
    Now on Pac-12 Network
    3:00 PM PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Network