Budinger, Hill Named USBWA All-District

March 10, 2009

USBWA All-District Teams in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

TUCSON, Ariz. - University of Arizona men's basketball players Chase Budinger and Jordan Hill were named to the United States Basketball Writers Association all-district team, it was announced by the organization Tuesday.

Budinger and Hill were among 10 players named to the District IX team, which covers the states of Alaska, Arizona, California, Hawaii, Oregon and Washington. It was the first time either player has been recognized by the USBWA.

Budinger, a 6-foot-7, 2318-pound junior forward from Encinitas, Calif., earned all-district honors after averaging 18.2 points, 6.4 rebounds and 3.4 assists per game in 31 regular-season appearances. Budinger shoots 48.3 percent (193-of-400) from the field and 42.9 percent (63-of-147) from three-point range. He ranks among the Pac-10 leaders in scoring, rebounding, assists, steals (1.5 spg), free throw percentage (.817), three-point field goals made (2.0 per game), three-point percentage, assist:turnover ratio (1.4:1) and minutes played (37.5). Budinger has finished in double figures 28 times this year, including 14 20-point games.

Hill, a 6-foot-10, 235-pound junior forward from Atlanta, Ga., was an all-district honoree after averaging 18.5 points, 11.0 rebounds and 1.9 blocked shots per game in 30 appearances. Hill shoots 55.4 percent (225-of-406) from the field and leads the Pac-10 with 17 double-doubles. He's scored in double figures a team-leading 29 times this year, including a high of 30 on Jan. 24 vs. Houston, and posted 18 double-figure rebounding games with a high of 22 on Nov. 18 vs. UAB.

Both players are in contention for USBWA All-America honors, which will be announced on Monday, March 16.

It marks the third time in the last six seasons that Arizona has had two players on the USBWA all-District team.

Arizona (19-12, 9-9 Pac-10) will next be in action on Thursday, March 12, vs. Arizona State at the 2009 Pacific Life Pac-10 Tournament in Los Angeles. The game will tip-off at noon PDT and will be televised nationally by FOX Sports Net.

2008-09 United States Basketball Writers AssociationAll-District IX TeamJames Harden, Arizona StateJohn Bryant, Santa ClaraJon Brockman, WashingtonDarren Collison, UCLAMatt Bouldin, GonzagaPatrick Christopher, CaliforniaJordan Hill, ArizonaJerome Randle, CaliforniaPatty Mills, Saint Mary'sChase Budinger, Arizona

District IX Player of the Year: James Harden, Arizona StateDistrict IX Coach of the Year: Craig Robinson, Oregon State

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder