Appel Named Player Of The Year, VanDerveer Coach Of The Year To Highlight All-Pac-10 Picks

March 11, 2009

All-Pac-10 Honors in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

STANFORD, Calif. - Jayne Appel became Stanford's 13th Pac-10 Player of the Year when the conference announced its postseason honors Wednesday, marking five times in the last six years that a Cardinal player has taken home the award. Head coach Tara VanDerveer was also named Pac-10 Coach of the Year for the 10th time in her career, as the two awards headlined the selection of six Stanford players to the various All-Pac-10 teams.

Appel was named to the All-Pac-10 First Team, while teammates Jillian Harmon and Jeanette Pohlen earned spots on the second team, Harmon was also named to the All-Defensive Team, and sophomore forward Kayla Pedersen was a third-team selection.Freshman Nnemkadi Ogwumike was Stanford's representative on the All-Freshman Team, and redshirt junior guard Rosalyn Gold-Onwude earned All-Defensive Team honorable mention recognition.

Appel, on the watch lists of the Wade Trophy, Naismith Trophy, and the John R. Wooden Award, earned the conference's top honor after finishing in the top three of four statistical categories. She led the loop with 1.97 blocks per game, was second with 9.1 rebounds per game and a shooting percentage of 62.8, and was third with 15.4 points per game. Appel's shooting percentage also qualified for second in the nation.

On the year, Appel took home Pac-10 Player of the Week honors four times during the regular season. She became Stanford's all-time blocks leader on March 5 against Arizona, passing Val Whiting's previous mark of 201. Appel's fine season has also moved her up the lists of two other career categories at Stanford; her 1,485 points through the end of the regular season ranks 13th on Stanford's all-time list, her 866 rebounds rank fourth, and she ranks second all-time with a career shooting percentage of .584, just two-hundredths of a percentage point away from leader Jeanne Ruark Hoff.

The first-team pick was the second of Appel's career, following last season's selection.

Harmon's selection to the All-Pac-10 Second Team was the third time the conference has honored her overall, as she took home an All-Freshman Team nod in 2006 as well as an honorable mention nod last season. The Lake Oswego, Ore. native averaged 9.9 points and 4.8 rebounds a game during the regular season, and over 18 Pac-10 contests, made 50.9 percent of her shots while scoring 10.8 points per game.

Defensively, Harmon made 39 steals and grabbed 76 defensive rebounds on the season to earn her All-Defensive Team nod.

She also etched her name into the Stanford record books on Feb. 27 at UCLA, becoming the 29th player in Stanford history to score 1,000 career points.

Following a 2007-08 season in which she was named All-Freshman Team honorable mention, Pohlen stepped into the Cardinal starting five and enjoyed a productive season scoring and running the offense. Her 11.3 points a game tied for second on the team, and her 2.02 assist-to-turnover ratio is second in the Pac-10.

Pohlen also found her long-range touch, nailing 71 three-pointers to crack the Stanford single-season top 10 and come within striking distance of Krista Rappahahn's record of 91 set in 2006.

Adjusting to a new role in the Cardinal offense, Pedersen became an outside shooting threat on top of her duties as a rebounder inside. The Fountain Hills, Ariz. native shot 44.9 percent from the field while scoring 11.3 points per game and grabbing 7.9 rebounds a game, both of the latter numbers good for second on the team.

Pedersen's third-team selection is the second consecutive of her career, after also being named Pac-10 Freshman of the Year in 2008.

Gold-Onwude started 24 of 30 games in the regular season, often drawing the assignment of defending the opponent's top outside scorer. Gold-Onwude's pestering defense helped her grab 29 steals on the year and contributed to Stanford's conference-best 35.0-percent opponent's field-goal percentage.

The honor is the second in a row for Gold-Onwude.

For the second year in a row and the 10th time overall, VanDerveer was honored as the Pac-10 Coach of the Year. Once again in 2008-09 VanDerveer and her Cardinal squad played one of the most challenging schedules in the nation, facing six nationally-ranked teams as well as playing seven of its first 12 games on the road this year.

She guided the Cardinal to its 18th Pac-10 regular-season title, and 15th outright, with a 26-4 overall mark and a 17-1 record in Pac-10 play. Stanford also nabbed the top seed at the Pac-10 Tournament for the eighth straight year.

Stanford opens Pac-10 Tournament play Friday night at 5 p.m. at the Galen Center in Los Angeles, taking on the winner of Thursday's play-in game between eighth-seeded Washington State and ninth-seeded Arizona.

2008-09 All-Pac-10 Honors

Player of the Year - Jayne Appel (STAN)
Freshman of the Year - Brianna Gilbreath (USC)
Defensive Player of the Year - Briann January (ASU)
Coach of the Year - Tara VanDerveer (STAN)

First Team

Jayne Appel, Jr., F/C, STAN
Alexis Gray-Lawson, Jr., G, CAL
Ify Ibekwe, So., F, ARIZ
Briann January, Sr., G, ASU
Ashley Walker, Sr., F/C, CAL

Second Team

Doreena Campbell, So., G, UCLA
Jillian Harmon, Sr., F, STAN
Camille LeNoir, Sr., G, USC
Jeanette Pohlen, So., G, STAN
Dymond Simon, Jr., G, ASU

Third Team

Micaela Cocks, Jr., G, ORE
Brittney Davis, Sr., G, OSU
Brianna Gilbreath, Fr., G, USC
Devanei Hampton, Sr., F/C, CAL
Kayla Pedersen, So., F, STAN

Honorable Mention: April Cook (WSU), Sybil Dosty (ASU), Mercedes Fox-Griffin (OSU), Taylor Lilley (ORE), Amina Njonkou (ARIZ), Nadia Parker (USC), Jazmine Perkins (WSU), Talisa Rhea (OSU), Erica Tukiainen (UCLA), Natasha Vital (CAL), Sami Whitcomb (WASH).

All-Defensive Team

Mercedes Fox-Griffin, Sr., G, OSU
Jillian Harmon, Sr., F, STAN
Ify Ibekwe, So., F, ARIZ
Briann January, Sr., G, ASU
Ashley Walker, Sr., F/C, CAL

Honorable Mention: Davis (SCHOOL), Sybil Dosty (ASU), Brianna Gilbreath (USC), Rosalyn Gold-Onwude (STAN), Heather Oliver (USC), Jazmine Perkins (WSU), Natasha Vital (CAL), Sami Whitcomb (WASH).

All-Freshman Team

Courtney Clements, F (ARIZ)
Brianna Gilbreath, G (USC)
Atonye Nyingifa, G/F (UCLA)
Nnemkadi Ogwumike, F (STAN)
Jazmine Perkins, G (WSU)

Honorable Mention: April Cook (WSU), Ashley Corral (USC), Jasmin Holliday (ORE), Amanda Johnson (ORE), Kristi Kingma (WASH)

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder