Five Divers Head To NCAA Zone E Championships To Compete For Spots At Nationals

March 11, 2009

Five Bruin divers will begin competition in Austin, TX on Thursday at the NCAA Zone E Championships with the hopes of qualifying for the NCAA Swimming & Diving Championships, held March 19-21 in College Station, TX.

Competing this weekend are seniors Brittany Hill, Marisa Samaniego and Tess Schofield, sophomore Laura Winn and freshman Alyssa Robinson.

Three-meter will be contested on Thursday with everyone but Winn competing. The event will begin at 10:00 am PST.

On Friday, all five divers will compete on one-meter with diving beginning at 10:00 am PST.

Saturday is the tower competition with Hill, Schofield and Winn competing at 10:30 am.

The top three finishers on each springboard automatically advance to the NCAA Championships. The winner on tower is given an automatic bid to NCAAs as well. There are seven spots up for grabs this weekend, and in the case of double or triple qualifiers, the descending order list is used to fill out the seven spots to Nationals.

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder