Peter Rennert To Be Inducted Into Collegiate Tennis Hall Of Fame

March 11, 2009

STANFORD, Calif. - Former Stanford tennis player Peter Rennert is set to be inducted into the Collegiate Tennis Hall of Fame in Athens, Ga. on May 20, 2009. Rennert will join eight others (six players, one coach, and one contributor) in the institution's Class of 2009.

Rennert, the ITA Player of the Year in 1980, was an All-American in both singles and doubles in 1979 and 1980. He also advanced to the singles final in the 1980 NCAA Championships.

During his time on The Farm (1977-80), Rennert posted a 56-14 singles record (.800 winning percentage) in dual matches and following graduation, reached his highest pro doubles rank of No.9 in 1983.

Rennert joins a long list of Stanford players and coaches who have already been enshrined in the hall, including: Ted Schroeder, Keith Gledhill, Alex Mayer, Roscoe Tanner, John H. Doeg, R. Lindley Murray, Robert D. Renker, Jon A. Douglas, John McEnroe, John Whitlinger, Tim Mayotte, Jim Delaney, Dan Goldie, Dick Gould, Matt Mitchell, Jared Palmer, Alex O'Brien, and Patrick McEnroe.

The ITA Men's Collegiate Tennis Hall of Fame is housed at the University of Georgia's Henry Field stadium in Athens. College tennis legend Dan Magill serves as curator and chairman of the Hall of Fame. The ITA Men's Hall of Fame, which includes over 1,800 rare photos inducted its first class in 1983, and has inducted more than 170 players, coaches and contributors since then. Players are eligible for election to the Hall of Fame 15 years after their last collegiate match and coaches are eligible one year following retirement. The main criteria for election are college accomplishments as well as honors earned after college.

For more information on the Collegiate Tennis Hall of Fame, please visit

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder