Three Bruin Basketball Players Honored By Pac-10 Conference

March 11, 2009

Sophomore guard Doreena Campbell (Alexandria, VA/Thomas A. Edison HS) earned second-team All-Pac-10 Conference honors, while junior guard Erica Tukiainen (Los Angeles, CA/Windward School) was named to the honorable mention team. In addition, freshman forward Atonye Nyingifa (Torrance, CA/Redondo Union HS) earned first-team Pac-10 All-Freshman acclaim.

Campbell, who was an honorable mention All-Pac-10 selection a year ago as a freshman, is UCLA's leading scorer and the No. 10 scorer in the Pac-10 with a 13.3 points per game average. She also ranks fifth in the Pac-10 in assists (3.8), fifth in assist/turnover ratio (1.3), sixth in free throw percentage (.817) and ninth in steals (1.5). She has led the Bruins in scoring in 15 games and has five 20-point games this season.

Bruin team captain Tukiainen has had her finest season to date, ranking second on the team in scoring with a 8.6 points per game average, first in three-point shots made with 27 and second in blocked shots with 12. Tukiainen has led the Bruins in scoring in five games, with 11 double-digit outputs. She has two 20-point games this year, including a career-best 25 in the upset win over No. 4 Cal.

Nyingifa came on strong during Pac-10 play, averaging 6.9 points and a team-best 5.9 rebounds per game with 26 steals during conference play. She has started in 14 consecutive games and played in all 29. Nyingifa has posted eight double-figure scoring games and three double-figure rebounding games and has earned team-high rebound honors seven times, second-most on the team.

Stanford's Jayne Appel was named the Player of the Year, and USC's Briana Gilbreath earned Freshman of the Year honors. Earning honors for the second consecutive year were Arizona State's Briann January as Defensive Player of the Year and Stanford's Tara VanDerveer as Coach of the Year.

2008-09 ALL-PAC-10 TEAMS
1st team
Jayne Appel, Stanford
Alexis Gray-Lawson, California
Ify Ibekwe, Arizona
Briann January, Arizona State
Ashley Walker, California

2nd team
Doreena Campbell, UCLA
Jillian Harmon, Stanford
Camille LeNoir, USC
Jeanette Pohlen, Stanford
Dymond Simon, Arizona State

3rd team
Brittney Davis, Oregon State
Micaela Cocks, Oregon
Briana Gilbreath, USC
Devanei Hampton, California
Kayla Pedersen, Stanford

HONORABLE MENTION (receiving at least one point): April Cook (WSU, Fr., G); Sybil Dosty (ASU, Sr., C); Mercedes Fox-Griffin (OSU, Sr., G); Taylor Lilley (ORE, Jr., G); Amina Njonkou (ARIZ, Sr., F); Nadia Parker (USC, Sr., C); Jazmine Perkins (WSU, Fr., G); Talisa Rhea (OSU, So., G); Erica Tukiainen (UCLA, Jr., G); Natasha Vital (CAL, Jr., G); Sami Whitcomb (WASH, Jr., G/F).

Courtney Clements, Arizona
Briana Gilbreath, USC
Atonye Nyingifa, UCLA
Nnemkadi Ogwumike, Stanford
Jazmine Perkins, WSU

HONORABLE MENTION (receiving at least one point): April Cook (WSU, G); Ashley Corral (USC, G); Jasmin Holliday (ORE, F); Amanda Johnson (ORE, F); Kristi Kingma (WASH, G/F).

Mercedes Fox-Griffin, Oregon State
Jillian Harmon, Stanford
Ify Ibekwe, Arizona
Briann January, Arizona State
Ashley Walker, California
HONORABLE MENTION (receiving at least one point): Brittney Davis (OSU, R-Sr., G); Sybil Dosty (ASU, Sr., C); Briana Gilbreath (USC, Fr., G); Rosalyn Gold-Onwude (STAN, R-Jr., G); Heather Oliver (USC, Jr., G); Jazmine Perkins (WSU, Fr., G); Natasha Vital (CAL, Jr., G); Sami Whitcomb (WASH, Jr., G/F).

Pac-10 Player of the Year: Jayne Appel, STAN
Pac-10 Freshman of the Year: Briana Gilbreath, USC
Pac-10 Defensive Player of the Year: Briann January, ASU
Pac-10 Coach of the Year: Tara VanDerveer, STAN

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder