Edrick Floreal Named MPSF Women's Coach Of The Year

March 12, 2009

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

Woodland, Calif. - Franklin P. Johnson Director of Track and Field Edrick Floreal was named 2009 MPSF women's Coach of the Year on Thursday. The selection was made by a vote of the head coaches in the MPSF. Art Venegas of UCLA was named the men's coach of the year.

Floreal led the Stanford women's squad to a total of six NCAA automatic marks and 13 provisional marks during the 2009 indoor season. Six athletes will be traveling to the NCAA Indoor Championships to compete in five different events. Floreal led four women to MPSF Championships, including Lauren Centrowitz (mile), Laurynne Chetelat (3,000 meters), Arantxa King (triple jump) and Kate Niehaus (5,000 meters). The women won the team title with 115 points and currently ranked No. 25 in the nation.

Floreal will lead both the men's and women's team this weekend at the NCAA Indoor Championships in College Station, Texas.

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder