Hill Continues Haul of Postseason Accolades

March 13, 2009

TUCSON, Ariz. - The postseason honors continue to pile up for University of Arizona men's basketball player Jordan Hill, as he collected two more accolades laste this week.

Hill was named a third-team All-American by The Sporting News, and becomes the 23rd All-American in school history. It marks the second consecutive season that Arizona has had at least one All-America selection.

He was joined on the third-team squad by Florida State's Toney Douglas, Kansas' Sherron Collins, Notre Dame's Luke Harangody and Pittsburgh's Sam Young.

Hill, a 6-foot-10, 235-pound, junior forward is averaging 18.5 points, 11.0 rebounds and 1.8 blocked shots per game in 31 appearances. Hill shoots 54.8 percent (234-of-427) from the field and leads the Pac-10 with 18 double-doubles. He's scored in double figures a team-leading 30 times this year, including a high of 30 on Jan. 24 vs. Houston, and posted 19 double-figure rebounding games with a high of 22 on Nov. 18 vs. UAB.

The Atlanta, Ga., native was also one of 24 players to be included on the John R. Wooden Award national ballot, which means that Hill is still under consideration for the Wooden Award, given annually to college basketball's national player of the year, and the 10-member Wooden Award All-America team.

A panel of more than 1,000 voters nationally, comprised of media members and college basketball experts, will have until March 30 to cast their ballots. The 2009 Wooden Award ceremony, hosted by the Los Angeles Athletic Club, will be held on Friday, April 10.

Last season, Arizona's Jerryd Bayless was included on the Wooden Award final ballot. Most recently, Salim Stoudamire (2005), Jason Gardner (2003) and Luke Walton (2002) earned Wooden Award All-America honors.

Earlier this week, Hill earned first-team all-Pac-10 honors and was an all-District IX selection by the USBWA.

The Sporting News 2009 All-America Teams

First TeamBlake Griffin, So., F, OklahomaDeJuan Blair, So., F/C, PittsburghStephen Curry, Jr., G, DavidsonTyler Hansborough, Sr., F/C, North CarolinaJames Harden, So., G, Arizona State

Second TeamTy Lawson, Jr., G, North CarolinaJodie Meeks, Jr., G, KentuckyJerel McNeal, Sr., G, MarquetteJeff Teague, So., G, Wake ForestHasheem Thabeet, Jr., C, Connecticut

Third TeamToney Douglas, Sr., G, Florida StateSherron Collins, Jr., G, KansasLuke Harangody, Jr., F/C, Notre DameJordan Hill, Jr., F, ArizonaSam Young, Sr., F, Pittsburgh

Wooden Award National Ballot

First Last Height Position Class School
A.J. Abrams 5-11 G Sr. Texas
DeJuan Blair 6-7 F So. Pittsburgh
Jon Brockman 6-7 F Sr. Washington
Nick Calathes 6-6 G/F So. Florida
Sherron Collins 5-11 G Jr. Kansas
Darren Collison 6-0 G Sr. UCLA
Stephen Curry 6-3 G Jr. Davidson
Tyreke Evans 6-6 G Fr. Memphis
Blake Griffin 6-10 F So. Oklahoma
Tyler Hansbrough 6-9 F Sr. North Carolina
Luke Harangody 6-8 F Jr. Notre Dame
James Harden 6-5 G So. Arizona State
Gerald Henderson 6-4 G/F Jr. Duke
Jordan Hill 6-10 F Jr. Arizona
Ty Lawson 5-11 G Jr. North Carolina
Kalin Lucas 6-0 G So. Michigan State
Jerel McNeal 6-3 G Sr. Marquette
Jodie Meeks 6-4 G Jr. Kentucky
Kyle Singler 6-8 F So. Duke
Jeff Teague 6-2 G So. Wake Forest
Hasheem Thabeet 7-3 C Jr. Connecticut
Marcus Thornton 6-4 G Sr. Louisiana State
Terrence Williams 6-6 F Sr. Louisville
Sam Young 6-6 F Sr. Pittsburgh
2008-2009 John R. Wooden Award
Now on Pac-12 Network
2:45 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder