Strong-Butler and Moevao Take Top Team Honors

March 16, 2009

Corvallis, Ore. - Victor Strong-Butler and Lyle Moevao received the top honors at the annual football awards ceremony held last Friday on the Oregon State University campus. The duo received the 'Team Award' for guiding the team to play together at the highest level.

Strong-Butler concluded his career by being named the Brut Sun Bowl's Most Valuable Player after making 11 tackles, including a school record matching four quarterback sacks in the team's 3-0 victory over Pittsburgh. He earned 2008 Pac-10 Conference First Team honors after setting the school record for single season tackles-for-loss with 21.5 and tying the school record for single season sacks with 12.

Moevao, a senior in 2009, earned Pac-10 Honorable Mention after passing for 2,534 yards and 19 touchdowns. He is 11-4 as a starter and already ranks sixth at OSU for passing yards with 3,410 and passing touchdowns with 21. Moevao will not participate in spring practice, which begins March 30, due to offseason shoulder surgery.

Receiver/punt returner Taylor Kavanaugh and linebacker David Pa'aluhi were presented the 'Lunch Bucket' award, marking the third straight year for Kavanaugh. Receiver Shane Morales and offensive tackle Mike Remmers were selected the most improved players, freshmen Jordan Bishop, Jordan Jenkins and Zane Norris, and junior transfer Matt LaGrone received the scout team awards.

All the awards were voted on by team members.

Support Oregon State University Athletics by making your tax deductible donation to the Beaver Athletic Student Fund. For more information follow this link or call 541-737-2370. You can make an 'everyday champion.' Follow Beaver Athletics on

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder

Before you proceed please complete the captcha below.