Stanford's Tara VanDerveer Named Russell Athletic/WBCA Region 8 Coach Of The Year

March 17, 2009

  • WBCA release

    STANFORD, Calif. - Stanford women's basketball head coach Tara VanDerveer added yet another trophy to her case Tuesday, as she was named Russell Athletic/WBCA Region 8 Coach of the Year, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association announced.

    VanDerveer, in her 30th season overall as a head coach, and her 23rd season at the helm of the Stanford program, has led the Cardinal to a 29-4 overall mark as well as to Pac-10 regular-season and tournament titles so far in 2008-09. Under her guidance the Cardinal ended the regular season ranked second in both national polls and earned a No. 2 seed in the Berkeley Regional of the 2009 NCAA Tournament. The postseason berth marks Stanford's 22nd consecutive appearance in the Big Dance.

    On March 14 VanDerveer, who enters the 2009 NCAA Tournament with 753 career victories, earned her 600th win as Stanford's head coach, becoming just the 10th Division I head coach to win 600 games at a single institution.

    One week ago VanDerveer claimed her first coaching honor of the season, being named Pac-10 Coach of the Year for the 10th time, tops among conference coaches. She is also a three-time national coach of the year (1988-90) and with Tuesday's honor is now a five-time district/regional coach of the year (1988-90, 2007, '09).

    Along with Stanford's 29-4 record, VanDerveer also saw six of her players honored by the Pac-10 following the regular season. Junior center Jayne Appel became Stanford's 13th Pac-10 Player of the Year on top of being named to the All-Pac-10 First Team. Senior forward Jillian Harmon and sophomore guard Jeanette Pohlen were named to the All-Pac-10 Second Team, with Harmon also earning a spot on the conference's All-Defensive Team, sophomore forward Kayla Pedersen was named to the All-Pac-10 Third Team, freshman forward Nnemkadi Ogwumike earned an All-Freshman Team nod, and junior guard Rosalyn Gold-Onwude was named All-Defensive Team honorable mention.

    The regional coach of the year winners are selected through a two-level process. The first level is by region, in which coaches from each WBCA geographical region vote for their respective top coach. If a coach has been selected as Regional Coach of the Year, they advance as a finalist to the national level of the selection process along with the other Regional Coaches of the Year in their respective division.

    The winners of the WBCA National Coach of the Year for Division I will be honored on Monday, April 6, 2009, at 1 p.m. CT during the Russell Athletic/WBCA National Coach of the Year Luncheon in the Hyatt Regency St. Louis Grand Ballroom. The luncheon is part of the 2009 WBCA National Convention, held in conjunction with the NCAA Women's Final Four.

  • Categories:
    Now on Pac-12 Network
    4:00 AM PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Network