Walker a finalist for WBCA All-American, Wooden Award

March 17, 2009


Senior forward Ashley Walker has been named as a regional finalist for the 2009 WBCA All-American team. Walker was also placed on the final ballot for the 2009 John R. Wooden award.

The Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA), in cooperation with State Farm, announced the 52 regional finalists for the 2009 State Farm Coaches' All-America Basketball Team for the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division I. The State Farm Coaches' All-America Team selection committee will review these 52 candidates and cut the list to 40 finalists on Thursday, March 25. The 40 finalists will all be in the running for selection to the 10-member State Farm Coaches' All-America Team.

Walker is one of the four finalists from Region 8. The others include Stanford's Jayne Appel, Arizona State's Briann January, and Gonzaga's Courtney Vandersloot.

The John R. Wooden Award Ballot Selection Committee announced the student-athletes named to the official John R. Wooden Award National Ballot that decides the women's 2009 Wooden Award All-American Team and Player of the Year, presented annually to the nation's top collegiate female basketball player. A panel of more than 300 voters, comprised of sports media members and college basketball experts from around the nation, have until 3 p.m. EST on Monday March 30 to cast their votes, a long voting period that allows voters to evaluate players up through games of the Sweet 16 of the NCAA Tournament. All players on the ballots have proven to their universities that they are making progress toward graduation and are maintaining a cumulative 2.0 GPA.

Walker is one of 19 names on the final ballot for the Wooden Trophy and All-American awards. Appel is the only other player from the West to make the final ballot.

The WBCA All-American team and the Player of the Year will be announced in St. Louis during the Final Four celebrations. The Wooden Award and All-American teams will be announced on April 10 during a ceremony in Los Angeles.

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder