Oregon State Men's Crew Prepares to take on Gonzaga

March 18, 2009

CORVALLIS, Ore. - The Oregon State men’s rowing team will take to the water for the second time this season as it prepares to face Gonzaga in a dual regatta on March 22 in Spokane, Wash.

'The guys are eager to get another race,” head coach Steve Todd said. “All of our crews felt that they learned a lot in the first race against Victoria. We'll see how we've progressed after a couple good weeks of practice.'

The Beavers and Bulldogs got to know each other well over the 2008 season, with the varsity crews matching up three times. Each school defeated the other once in the first two races, with Gonzaga taking the dual race at Dexter Lake on March 22 and Oregon State getting revenge at the Pac-10 Challenge a week later. The two crews met once again at the IRA Championships, and it was OSU who came out on top, finishing 7 spots ahead of the Zags in the final standings. 

After battling rough conditions in Victoria during their last outing, the Beavers are expecting more of the same in Spokane this weekend. The Bulldogs moved their race against UC San Diego last week to Lake Coeur d'Alene in Idaho due to weather concerns at home on Silver Lake. Gonzaga emerged from those races with a sweep of UCSD in the Varsity 8+, Junior Varsity 8+, and Freshman 8+ divisions.

In addition to the V8+, the Beavers will bring four other boats up to Spokane. The JV8+ crew will get things started with a 9 a.m. start time, followed by the V8+ at 9:20. The F8+ is scheduled to start twenty minutes after that. The Varsity 4+ will race at 10:15, while the Freshman 4+ will conclude the regatta when they take off at 10:35.

Check back with osubeavers.com for results from Sunday’s races.


Varsity 8+

Cox: Stefan Evano

S: Robby Ewing

7: Will Gustafson

6: Ian George

5: Mike Buckiewicz

4: Rob Hannah

3: Evan Peterson

2: David Weir

B: Bronson Shafer

Junior Varsity 8+

Cox: Beth Olsen

S: Campbell Woods

7: Marcus Timo

6: Joe Wainwright

5: Trevor Howard

4: Josh Jones

3: John Gallion

2: Kenneth Walker

B: Sam Schwartz

Freshman 8+

Cox: Jenna Schardt

S: Chad Swenson

7: Rory O'Byrne

6: Wyatt Worrel

5: Andrew read

4: Trae Wells

3: Trevor Carey

2: Pat Kohan

B: Spencer Robertson       

Varsity 4+

Cox: Jeremy Sugden

S: Joe Wainwright

3: Kenneth Walker

2: Campbell Woods

B: Sam Schwartz

Freshman 4+

Cox: Dan Thompson

S: Aaron Kruse

3: Drew Wilkerson

2: John Gallion

B: Danny Galver

Support Oregon State University Athletics by making your tax deductible donation to the Beaver Athletic Student Fund.  For more information follow this link or call 541-737-2370.  You can make an “everyday champion.”  Follow Beaver Athletics on twitter.


Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder