Jason Dunford Honored as Pac-10 Scholar-Athlete of the Year For Men's Swimming

March 19, 2009

  • Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

    STANFORD, Calif. - Stanford senior Jason Dunford has been named the 2008-09 Pacific-10 Conference winter Scholar-Athlete of the Year for men's swimming, as presented by Toyo Tires ®. These awards have been established to honor collegiate student-athletes that are standouts both academically and in their sport discipline. A Scholar-Athlete of the Year will be named in each of the Pac-10's 22 sponsored sports.

    Pac-10 Scholar-Athletes of the Year in each sport will receive a commemorative award. Toyo ® will donate $1,000 to the scholarship funds of the institution's athletic department of each winner in recognition of their accomplishments.

    Dunford, who is a native of Nairobi, Kenya, has been an outstanding student at Stanford, maintaining a 3.74 GPA, while majoring in human biology. Dunford was named to the Pac-10 All-Academic first-team in both 2007 and 2008.

    Dunford has been a standout swimmer for the Cardinal during his four year career. He is a 14-time All-American who will look to add to that total at the NCAA Championships later this month when he competes in the 50 and 100 free and the 100 fly, as well as several relays.

    The Stanford co-captain was also named the Pac-10 Swimmer of the Month for February after leading the Cardinal to an undefeated regular season and a No. 1 national ranking.

    Last summer, Dunford competed in the Olympic Games in Beijing for his native Kenya. While swimming in the prelims of the 100 fly, Dunford set an Olympic Record that was broken later that day. Dunford went on to finish fifth in the final that was won by Michael Phelps in a photo finish for his seventh Gold Medal.

    In order to be eligible for the Pac-10 Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, student-athletes must be a senior (in athletics eligibility) on track to receive a degree, have a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher, participate in at least 50% of the scheduled contests in the sport and have a minimum of one year in residence at the institution. Each Pac-10 institution nominates one individual per sport, and the winners are selected by a committee of Pac-10 staff members at the conclusion of each sport's regular season. The athletic accomplishments of the nominees are a consideration in voting for the award.

  • Now on Pac-12 Network
    6:30 PM PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Network
    Get Pac-12 Networks
    Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder

    Before you proceed please complete the captcha below.