OSU Sent to NCAA Central Regional

March 23, 2009

Indianapolis, Ind. -

Oregon State has qualified to the 2009 NCAA Central Regional Women’s Gymnastics Championships to be held April 4 at Ohio State the NCAA office announced Monday afternoon. Teams making the Central Regional field (regional qualifying score in parentheses) follow: LSU (196.760), Oregon State (196.520), Ohio State (195.735), Kent State (195.335), Kentucky (195.295) and Michigan State (195.130).

The competition begins at 6 p.m. ET on April 4 and features six of the top 36 teams in the nation. At-large all-around competitors and event specialists will join the various teams as assigned. The top two teams in the meet will advance to the NCAA Championships hosted by the University of Nebraska, April 16-18.

“We’re excited to compete at the NCAA Central Regional,” head coach Tanya Chaplin said. “We’re looking forward to seeing a different part of the country and to competing against different opponents than we see an a weekly basis. We’ll have to be ready and get in there and fight to continue our season at the NCAA Championships.”

The NCAA office conducted a draw to determine the rotation order for the competition, which follows: Kentucky begins on vault, Kent State begins on a bye before uneven bars, Oregon State begins on bars, Michigan State begins on beam, LSU begins on a bye before floor exercise and Ohio State begins on floor.

Individual all-around qualifiers for the 2009 NCAA Central Regional Championships are: Andrea Perini (Western Michigan), Breanne Guy (Bowling Green), Erin Grigg (Eastern Michigan), Teresa Phipps (Ball State), and Kristine Garbarino (Western Michigan).

Individual event at-large qualifiers are: Brittney Emmons (Ball State) on vault and floor; Bibiana Rodriguez (Ball State) on bars; Maureen Moss (Eastern Michigan) on beam.

Support Oregon State University Athletics by making your tax deductible donation to the Beaver Athletic Student Fund. For more information follow this link or call 541-737-2370. You can make an “everyday champion.” Follow Beaver Athletics on twitter.

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network