Jayne Appel Named State Farm Wade Trophy Finalist

March 24, 2009

STANFORD, Calif. - Junior center Jayne Appel is one of 12 finalists for the State Farm Wade Trophy, the State Farm Wade Trophy Committee along with the Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) and the National Association for Girls and Women In Sport (NAGWS) announced Tuesday.

Appel, Stanford's leader in scoring (14.7 ppg), rebounding (9.0 rpg) and blocked shots (1.86 bpg), has posted 13 double-doubles in 2008-09. Her dominating play inside has not only been highlighted by her statistics, but also in the statistics of her teammates. Appel has become such a force inside as well as running the court that she regularly commands double and even triple teams in the post, freeing up fellow teammates Kayla Pedersen (11.1 ppg), Jeanette Pohlen (11.1 ppg), Nnemkadi Ogwumike (10.5 ppg) and Jillian Harmon (9.8 ppg) to have solid, and even career years this season.

Appel is also one of just three juniors among the 12 finalists, which also include seven seniors and a pair of sophomores. She is also joined by fellow Pac-10 post Ashley Walker of California as the only West Coast players on the list.

Already this season, Appel has been named a second-team All-American by espn.com, and a finalist for the John R. Wooden Award. She also became Stanford's 13th Pac-10 Player of the Year in addition to being named to the All-Pac-10 First Team and earning four U.S. Bank Pac-10 Player of the Week honors in 2008-09.

Stanford has had two players in program history capture the Wade Trophy. Jennifer Azzi took home the honor in Stanford's 1990 championship season, while Candice Wiggins earned the honor last year after leading Stanford to its first Final Four appearance in 11 years.

'I look forward to announcing the 12 finalists for the State Farm Wade Trophy each year as it honors the best-of-the best, and this year is no exception,' said WBCA CEO Beth Bass. 'This group of young women has a unique blend of talent on the court and despite their limited time, they also serve as positive role models to those in their communities. We want to applaud them for all they do.'The candidates were selected by a vote of committee members comprised of leading basketball coaches, journalists and basketball administrators. Members of the committee will select the winner of The State Farm Wade Trophy from the 10-member Division I State Farm Coaches' All-America Team and will be announced at the State Farm Coaches' All-America Team Press Conference and The State Farm Wade Trophy Announcement during the WBCA National Convention on Saturday, April 4, 2009, at 9:45 a.m. CT.

'State Farm is extremely proud to recognize and congratulate these 12 outstanding athletes as finalists for the 2009 State Farm Wade Trophy', said Pam El, Marketing Vice President for State Farm. 'Their dedication and commitment epitomize the true meaning of student-athlete and they are all very deserving of this great honor'.

The State Farm Wade Trophy, now in its 32nd year, is named after the late, legendary three-time national champion Delta State University coach, Lily Margaret Wade. This most prestigious award, regarded as 'The Heisman of Women's Basketball', debuted in 1978 as the first-ever women's national player of the year award in college basketball.

Last year's State Farm Wade Trophy winner was Stanford's Candace Wiggins. The first recipient of the Wade Trophy was Carol Blazejowski of Montclair State in 1978. Other Wade Trophy/NCAA Division I Player of the Year recipients include many WNBA standouts such as Teresa Weatherspoon (1988), DeLisha Milton-Jones (1997), Candace Parker (2007), Ticha Penicheiro (1998), Sue Bird (2002) and Diana Taurasi (2003). Seimone Augustus (2005 and 2006) and Nancy Lieberman (1979 and 1980) are the award's only two-time recipients.

The Wade Trophy Coalition was established in June of 2000 when the WBCA partnered with The National Association of Girls and Women in Sport (NAGWS). For the past six years the two have worked together to present The State Farm Wade Trophy Player of the Year Award. A committee comprised of coaches, administrators and media from across the United States selects the winner.

The State Farm Wade Trophy winner will be formally presented her award at the WBCA Awards Luncheon presented by State Farm and Jostens on Tuesday, April 7, at Noon CT in the Hyatt Regency St. Louis Riverfront. The State Farm Wade Trophy Player of the Year presentation is part of the WBCA National Convention, held in conjunction with the NCAA® Women's Final Four® in St Louis, Mo.

2009 State Farm Wade Trophy Finalists

Jayne Appel, Stanford, Jr., C
DeWanna Bonner, Auburn, Sr., G
Tina Charles, Connecticut, Jr., C
Marissa Coleman, Maryland, Sr., G/F
Jantel Lavender, Ohio State, So., C
Angel McCoughtry, Louisville, Sr., F
Renee Montgomery, Connecticut, Sr., G
Maya Moore, Connecticut, So., F
Courtney Paris, Oklahoma, Sr., C
Kristi Tolliver, Maryland, Sr., G
Ashley Walker, California, Sr., F
Monica Wright, Virginia, Jr., G

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder