This Week in Pac-10 Women's Basketball

March 26, 2009

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

All four Pac-10 teams have advanced in their respective postseason tournaments, including three in the NCAA Tournament. Arizona State and California travel to Trenton, N.J., to play in the Sweet 16, while Stanford remains close to home for the Sweet 16 in the Berkeley Regional. It is the first time since 1992 the Pac-10 has had three teams in the NCAA's Sweet 16. All games of the NCAA Tournament can be watched on ESPN/ESPNHD or ESPN2/ESPN2HD.

Oregon State looks to keep its postseason alive, as well, facing New Mexico at a neutral site in the Lobos' home state.

For teams looking to get to St. Louis for the NCAA Final Four, they may have to go through Pac-10 territory. USC and Washington hosted first and secound rounds at the Galen Center and Bank of America Arena, respectively. California's Haas Pavilion was selected one of four sites for the NCAA Sweet Sixteen and Elite Eight on March 28 and 30.

The Final Four is slated to be held on April 5 and 7 at the Scottrade Center in St. Louis.

PAC-10 IN THE NCAA TOURNAMENTThe Pac-10 has sent at least three teams to the NCAA Tournament in each of the last seven years, including this year's tournament. At least one Conference squad has advanced to the Sweet Sixteen each year since 2004. This year is the first since 1992 three Pac-10 teams have advanced to the Sweet 16.

Pac-10 teams have combined for a 135-98 record all-time in the NCAA Tournament with at least one Conference team reaching the Sweet Sixteen in 25 of 30 tournaments. In addition, the Pac-10 has reached the Elite Eight in 18 of 27 years, including the last five seasons.

ASU's best tournament showing was in 2007 when the Sun Devils advanced to the regional final in Greensboro, N.C. California is making its first-ever Sweet 16 and Stanford was the national championship runner-up last year, winning the National Championship in 1990 and 1992.

Stanford's Jayne Appel, Arizona State's Briann January and California's Ashley Walker were named finalists for a couple of prestigious Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) honors. All three were selected finalists for the 10-member All-America team, while Appel and Walker were selected finalists for the WBCA's State Farm Wade Trophy, presented to the nation's top collegiate player.

The State Farm Coaches All-America Team and State Farm Wade Trophy winners will be announced on April 4 at 9:45 a.m. CT.

First Round - March 21

#4 California def. #13 Fresno State, 70-47
#6 Arizona State def. #11 Georgia, 58-47

Second Round - March 23
#4 California def. #5 Virginia, 99-73
#6 Arizona State def. #3 Florida State, 63-58

Sweet Sixteen - March 29
Sovereign Bank Arena • Trenton, N.J.
Tickets: (800) 298-4200
#4 Calfornia vs. #1 Connecticut, 12 p.m. ET • ESPN/ESPNHD
#6 Arizona St. vs #2 Texas A&M, approx. 2:30 p.m. ET • ESPN2/ESPN2HD

Elite Eight - March 31
Sweet 16 winners, 7 p.m. ET • ESPN

First Round - March 21
#2 Stanford def. #15 UC Santa Barbara, 74-39

Second Round - March 23
#2 Stanford def. #10 San Diego State, 77-49

Sweet Sixteen - March 28
Haas Pavilion • Berkeley, Calf.
Tickets: (800) GO-BEARS
#9 Michigan State vs. #4 Iowa State, 6 p.m. PT • ESPN/ESPNHD
#2 Stanford vs. #3 Ohio State, approx. 8:30 p.m. PT • ESPN2/ESPN2HD

Elite Eight • March 30
Sweet 16 winners, 6 p.m. PT • ESPN/ESPNHD

Final Four
National Semifinals - April 5

St. Louis, Mo. • Scottrade Center
Semifinal Game 1 - 7 p.m. ET, ESPN/ESPNHD
Semifinal Game 2 - 9:30 p.m. ET, ESPN/ESPNHD

National Championship - April 7
St. Louis, Mo. • Scottrade Center
8:30 p.m. ET - ESPN/ESPNHD

March 18-20 - First Round

Oregon State - Bye

March 21 - Second Round (Corvallis, Ore.)
Oregon State def. Portland State, 59-47

March 27 - Third Round (Rio Rancho, N.M.)
Oregon State vs. New Mexico, 6 p.m. PT

March 28-30 - Fourth Round
April 1-2 - Semifinals
April 4 - Championship Game, 2 p.m. ET

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:15 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder