Arizona Competes in Final Day of Prelims

March 28, 2009

COLLEGE STATION, Texas – In day three of the Men’s Swimming and Diving Championships, Arizona qualified three into championships heats, along with its 400 free relay team and junior Jean Basson swimming the 1650 free to start finals.

Olympian Jake Tapp had arguably his best swim of the championships with a time of 1:39.13 in the 200 back to gain a spot into the championship heat. Tapp started strong and held the lead throughout, warding off challengers from Florida and Auburn. His time was the second fastest of any heat. Bryan O’Connor did not qualify in the top-16. Tapp time also lowered his UA school record in the event.

In the 100 freestyle, Nicolas Nilo qualified for the championship heat with a time of 42.34. Arizona missed opportunities with Joel Greenshields, Nimrod Shapira Bar-Or and Jordan Smith not being able to crack the top-16.

Jack Brown broke Bart Steninger’s school record time in the 200 breast with a 1:54.05 during heat two. Brown won the heat and had the ninth fastest time overall to earn a bid into the consolation heat. Marcus Titus also gained entry into the consols with a time of 1:55.11.

A.J. Tipton swam the seventh fastest 200 fly and gained a spot into the top-eight for the championship heat. Tipton’s time of 1:42.38 lowered his already school record in the 200 fly.

The 400 free relay team of Nilo, Smith, Shapira Bar-Or and Greenshields swam a 2:50.92 to place seventh overall in tonight’s final.

At the end of the final prelim session, Arizona is three up and two down. Other teams bunched with Arizona in the standing include Cal which is four up and five down and Florida which is three up and three down.

Platform diving just got underway with Arizona’s Ben Grado looking to give his team a boost in the final diving event.


200 Backstroke

2. Jake Tapp                                 1:39.13

19. Bryan O’Connor                         1:42.11

100 Freestyle

8. Nicolas Nilo                            42.34

19. Jordan Smith                        42.89

25. Joel Greenshields                   43.20

37. Nimrod Shapira Bar-Or            43.83

200 Breaststroke

9. Jack Brown                           1:54.05

14. Marcus Titus                        1:55.11

31. Andrew Callahan                   1:57.98

200 Butterfly

7. AJ Tipton                                   1:42.38

38. Jordan Slaughter                        1:48.16

Platform Diving

--Ben Grado                                     TBA

400 Freestyle Relay

7. Arizona                                    2:50.92


Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder