Arizona Takes Sixth at NCAA's

March 28, 2009


COLLEGE STATION, Texas – The University of Arizona men’s swimming and diving team placed sixth with 309 points in the 2009 NCAA Championships in College Station, Texas at the Student Rec Center Natatorium on the campus of Texas A&M University. It is head coach Frank Busch’s 12th time finishing amongst the top-six in a Men’s NCAA championship meet in his illustrious career. Auburn took the title with 526 points, its sixth championship in seven years.

Jean Basson started the night for the Cats with a personal best time of 14:52.02 in the 1.650 freestyle event. Basson, swimming in heat two, held a constant pace for most of the race before turning it on late. His time awarded him 13th place after the heat three times were calculated.

In the 200 backstroke, junior Jake Tapp finished runner-up for the NCAA individual title with a time of 1:38.67. The Olympian was even with Michigan’s Tyler Clary through the first six lengths, but Tapp couldn’t hold the pace and came away with second.

Senior Nicolas Nilo, competing in his last NCAA meet, placed seventh overall with a time of 42.08, just missing Albert Subirats’ school record of 42.05. Cal’s Nathan Adrian set a new American record in the heat with a first place time of 41.08.

Diver Ben Grado, who just snuck into the consolation final in the platform event during prelims with a 16th place score of 337.90, finished eighth in the consols with a score of 308.

200 breaststroke duo Jack Brown and Marcus Titus finished fourth and seventh respectively in the consolation heat. Brown swam a time of 1:54.91 while Titus finished with a 1:56.31. Brown just missed making the cut for the championship heat this morning as he was ninth with a school record time of 1:54.05.

Freshman A.J. Tipton placed eighth in the 200 fly final with a time of 1:44.12. The race was particularly interesting given the standings at the time. Before the 200 fly consol and final, Arizona trailed Florida for fifth place 271-269. The Gators would go onto win both the consolation heat and final championship race behind Brad Ally and Shaune Fraser’s times and the Wildcats would see the two point deficit increase to 20.

In the final race of the 2009 championships, the 400 free relay team of Nicolas Nilo, Jordan Smith, Joel Greenshields and Jake Tapp finished with a 5th place time of 2:49.80 to add 28 points to the Cats final tally. 

The men set eight new school records over the course of the NCAA’s. It is the first time since 2003 that the men’s team did not receive ‘wood’, swimming and diving’s term for a trophy, as it was among the top-four each of the last five seasons.


Final Standings

1. Auburn 526 points                       

2. Texas 487 points                       

3. Stanford 460.5 points                       

4. California  350 points                      

5. Florida      324 points                  

6. Arizona  309 points                       


Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder