No. 8 Beavers Travel to Ohio State for Regionals

March 31, 2009

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

The meet ... No. 8 Oregon State (16-8) heads to the eastern time zone to compete at the NCAA Central Regional Championships hosted by Ohio State. The Beavers are the second seed at the regional with No. 5 LSU earning the top seed. Joining the Tigers and Beavers are No. 17 Ohio State, No. 22 Kent State, No. 24 Kentucky and No. 26 Michigan State. Oregon State is seeking its second straight regional championship after beating top-seeded Michigan in 2008 at the NCAA West Regional in Corvallis ... Saturday’s meet marks the first time that Oregon State has competed in Columbus, although a home-and-home is schedule between the schools in the future ... Oregon State has never participated in the NCAA Central Regionals ... Oregon State’s all-time record against the four teams seeded 3rd through 6th is 16-3 (6-3 vs. Ohio State; 0-0 vs. Kent State; 1-0 vs. Kentucky; 9-0 vs. Michigan State) ... The Beavers are 5-7-1 all-time against LSU.


MULTIMEDIA COVERAGE ... The NCAA Central Regional Championships will not be televised. Fans wishing to follow the action can go to to view live stats throughout the competition.


last year ... Oregon State earned its third straight trip to the NCAA Championships when the Beavers earned the title of NCAA West Regional Champions. OSU scored 197.100 to secure the NCAA berth and scored 49-points on each event en route to a convincing win over second place Michigan (196.375). Five OSU gymnasts combined to sweep the meet titles with Yuki Lamb (vault), Jen Kesler (bars), Jami Lanz (beam) and Tasha Smith and Mandi Rodriguez tying on floor. Lanz added the all-around title.


gymnast of the year ... Junior Mandi Rodriguez was announced as the Pac-10 Gymnast of the Year following the Pac-10 Championships two weeks ago.

          Rodriguez was selected by the conference’s head coaches prior to the conference championship meet. Rodriguez is the third Oregon State gymnast to earn the award and the first since Chari Knight in 1994. Knight also won the award in 1992 and before her Joy Selig was honored in 1991.


IN THE RANKINGS ... This week, all four of OSU’s lineups are ranked among the top 12 in the nation. The beam team is the Beavers’ top ranked lineup at 5th (49.205), followed by bars (8th - 49.165), floor (10th - 49.205) and vault (tied for 12th - 49.160).

          Individually, Mandi Rodriguez ranks No. 5 in the nation on the vault and floor exercise. Rodriguez also ranks 7th in the all-around. Leslie Mak is 4th on the bars and Jen Kesler ranks 8th. Laura-Ann Chong is the Beavers’ top-ranked beam worker, ranking 27th. Jami Lanz ranks 29th on beam, is 25th on the floor and is 21st in the all-around.


PAC-10 INDIVIDUAL CHAMPIONS ... For the second year in a row, OSU gymnasts claimed their stake in three Pac-10 individual titles. Mandi Rodriguez, who has put together one of the best seasons in OSU history, continued her winning ways of 2009 with a 9.90 on the floor exercise to tie (Nicole Ourada, Stanford) for the individual title and scored 9.95 on the vault to win that event outright. On the uneven bars, Jen Kesler and Leslie Mak each scored 9.90’s to finish in a five-way tie for first.

ALL-PAC-10 honors ... Five Oregon State gymnasts received All-Pac-10 Conference honors when the awards were announced last Tuesday. The all-conference gymnasts are Laura-Ann Chong, Jen Kesler, Jami Lanz, Leslie Mak and Mandi Rodriguez.

          Lanz earned first team honors in the all-around for the fourth time in her career. Meanwhile, Rodriguez also earned first team honors in the all-around for the first time in her career. Rodriguez had previously earned first time accolades twice on vault and once on the floor exercise.

          Kesler and Mak each earned their first all-conference honors as first team members on the uneven bars. Chong also received all-conference recognition for the first time in her career earning second team status on the balance beam.


ALL-ACADEMIC ... Six OSU gymnasts received recognition for their work in the classroom when the Pac-10’s All-Academic teams were announced recently. With two second team honorees and four honorable mentions, the Beavers tied for the second-most selections in the conference to Stanford (8). Kera Bolen and Laura-Ann Chong each received second team recognition and Brooke Barclay, Jereme Bigelow, Mandi Rodriguez and Whitney Watson earned honorable mention.

          This is the second time Chong has earned second team honors while it is the first for Bolen. This year’s honorable mention recognition marks the third such award for Barclay and second for Rodriguez and Watson. This is Bigelow’s first all-academic award.

Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder

Before you proceed please complete the captcha below.