Darren Collison Receives The Frances Pomeroy Naismith Award

April 1, 2009

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. - Darren Collison, a senior guard from UCLA, is the 2009 recipient of the Frances Pomeroy Naismith Award, presented annually by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame to the nation's outstanding senior male collegian 6'0' and under who has excelled both athletically and academically.

Darren Collison decided to go back to UCLA for his senior season and played well. He averaged 14.4 points, 4.7 assists, and 1.6 steals per game. Collison led the Pac-10 in free throw percentage, was third in assists, steals, and assists-to-turnover ratio, and was 14th in scoring. He was also named to the All-Pac-10 First Team. He finished his UCLA career with 1,639 points and 577 assists, for career averages of 11.5 points and 4 assists. The three time Bob Cousy Award Finalist has had a stellar career at UCLA. He has three Final Four appearances and played in the most NCAA Tournament games of any active player. Previous accomplishments include being named to the third team All-America, All-Pac-10 Defensive Team, and Most Outstanding Player of the Pac-10 Tournament. Collison becomes just the second Bruin to win the award (Tyus Edney, 1995).

'We are proud to honor Darren Collison with the 2009 Frances Pomeroy Naismith Award', stated John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. 'The combination of his success on the court and his achievements in the classroom as a student-athlete make him a deserving recipient who exemplifies the qualities this award is designed to celebrate.'

The Frances Pomeroy Naismith Award is named in honor of James Naismith's daughter-in-law. A panel of representatives from the National Association of Basketball Coaches selects the recipient. To earn the award, the recipient must demonstrate leadership, character, loyalty, all-around basketball ability and excellence in the classroom.

The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame pays tribute to the game's inventor, Dr. James Naismith. Located in Springfield, Mass., 'the Birthplace of Basketball', the world's only Basketball Hall of Fame promotes and preserves men's and women's basketball at every level - professional, collegiate, scholastic, Olympic, international and wheelchair.

Previous Winners of the Frances Pomeroy Naismith Award

1969 William Keller, Purdue University
1970 John Rinka, Kenyon
1971 Charlie Johnson, University of California
1972 Scott Martin, University of Oklahoma
1973 Robert Sherwin, Army
1974 Mike Robinson, Michigan State
1975 Monte Tow, North Carolina State
1976 Frank Alagia, St. John's
1977 Jeff Jonas, Utah
1978 Mike Schieb, Susquehanna
1979 Alton Byrd, Columbia
1980 Jim Sweeney, Boston College
1981 Terry Adolph, West Texas State
1982 Jack Moore, University of Nebraska
1983 Ray McMallum, Ball State University
1984 Ricky Stokes, University of Virginia
1985 Bubba Jennings, Texas Tech University
1986 Jim Les, Bradley University
1987 Tyrone Bogues, Wake Forest University
1988 Jerry Johnson, Florida Southern
1989 Tim Hardaway, UTEP
1990 Greg Harvey, St. John's
1991 Keith Jennings, East Tennessee State
1992 Tony Bennett, Wisconsin-Green Bay
1993 Sam Crawford, New Mexico State
1994 Greg Brown, University of New Mexico
1995 Tyus Edney, UCLA
1996 Eddie Benton, University of Vermont
1997 Brevin Knight, Stanford University
1998 Earl Boykins, E. Michigan University
1999 Shawnta Rogers, George Washington U.
2000 Scoonie Penn, Ohio State Universtiy
2001 Rashad Phillips, Detroit
2002 Steve Logan, University of Connecticut
2003 Jason Gardner, University of Arizona
2004 Jameer Nelson, St. Joseph's
2005 Nate Robinson, University of Washington
2006 Dee Brown, University of Illinois
2007 Tre' Kelley, University of South Carolina
2008 Mike Green, Butler University
2009 Darren Collison, UCLA

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder