Men's Crew Travels to San Diego Crew Classic

April 1, 2009


The Oregon State men's rowing team will be on the water again as it travels south to the San Diego Crew Classic held on Mission Bay April 4-5.

The Beavers' Varsity 8+ will compete against 10 of the most elite crews in the country for the Copley Cup. Oregon State will compete in the `A' Heat at 8:30 a.m. against boats from Washington, Brown, Harvard, Syracuse, and Purdue. All six crews in the heat participated in the 2008 IRA Championships, with Washington finishing second and Brown (8th), Harvard (11th), Syracuse (13th), Oregon State (14th) and Purdue (22nd) all posting impressive finishes. The Beavers will be looking for a top-three finish in their heat in order to advance to the Grand Finals.

Oregon State and Syracuse will continue with a hotly contested rivalry that saw the crews face off four times in the 2008 season, the final time coming in the 3rd Level Final of the IRA Championships where the Orange crossed the finish line a mere .2 seconds ahead of the Beavers. The two schools raced twice in the 2008 San Diego Crew Classic, where Syracuse narrowly defeated OSU to win the Petite Finals.

Oregon State's Freshman 8+ will also see a collection of impressive crews as they line up against California, UC Davis, Santa Clara, USC, UC Santa Barbra, and Arizona State in the `B' Heat of the Derek Guelker Memorial Cup. Crews from Pac-10 schools Washington, Stanford, UCLA, and Washington State will race in the two other F8+ heats. A top-two finish by the Beavers in the 9:20 a.m. race will put them in the Grand Finals.

In addition to the V8+ and F8+, the Beavers will also bring an Open 8+ to Mission Bay to take on various collegiate, alumni, and club crews. Oregon State will race in the `B' Heat at 1:40 p.m. Collegiate crews from Orange Coast College and California, alumni crews from UC San Diego and the University of San Diego, as well as a boat from the Crew Runnings club will be the Beavers competition. As with the V8+, a top-three finish will give OSU a chance at the Joan Ward Memorial Trophy in the Grand Finals.

'All three boats have the goal of making the Grand Final in their event,' said head coach Steve Todd. 'I think that the Freshman 8+ is really ready to race and they are excited to get out and see a full field of very competitive teams.'

The three crews will race again on Sunday in either the Grand or Petite Finals, depending on their finish in Saturday's heat races. A live video stream of the racing is available at (

Check back with for results from the weekend of racing.


Varsity 8+

Cox: Stefan Evano
S: Robby Ewing
7: Will Gustafson
6: Ian George
5: Mike Buckiewicz
4: Rob Hannah
3: Campbell Woods
2: David Weir
B: Bronson Shafer

Freshman 8+

Cox: Dan Thompson
S: Chad Swenson
7: Spencer Robertson
6: Wyatt Worrel
5: Rory O'Byrne
4: Pat Kohan
3: Andrew read
2: John Gallion
B: Trevor Carey

Open 8+

Cox: Beth Olsen
S: Joe Wainwright
7: Marcus Timo
6: Josh Jones
5: Trae Wells
4: Drew Wilkerson
3: Trevor Howard
2: Kenneth Walker
B: Sam Schwartz

Support Oregon State University Athletics by making your tax deductible donation to the Beaver Athletic Student Fund. For more information follow this link or call 541-737-2370. You can make an 'everyday champion.'Follow Beaver Athletics on Twitter.

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder