California Sweeps 2009 Pac-10 Women's Swimming Honors

April 2, 2009

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. -- After winning its first-ever NCAA team championship, CALIFORNIA'S Dana Vollmer, Liv Jensen and Teri McKeever have been named the 2009 Pacific-10 Conference Women's Swimmer, Newcomer and Coach of the Year, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced today. The awards are determined by a vote of the league's coaches.

Vollmer, a Ganbury, Texas, native, led the Golden Bears in 2009 to their first-ever Pac-10 and NCAA team championships. The senior was named the 2009 NCAA Swimmer of the Year after winning a pair of individual titles in the 100- and 200-yard freestyle events. She also helped her team capture the 400- and 800-yard freestyle relay championships. At NCAA's, she clocked in a personal-best time in the 100 free (47.17) and set a new NCAA meet record in the 200 free prelims (1:42.01). She finishes her career at Cal with three individual NCAA titles, having won the 100-yard butterfly in 2007, and five individual Pac-10 championships. She was also named the winner of the 2009 Honda Sports Award as the nation's top collegiate female athlete in women's swimming & diving.

Jensen, a freshman from Palo Alto, Calif., was a part of the 800-yard freestyle relay team, which set new school, NCAA, NCAA Championships, American and U.S. Open records with a time of 6:52.69 at the 2009 NCAA Championships. She set the tone early and finished her 200-yard split in 1:43.15. In the consolation final of the 100 free she swam a personal-best time of 48.26 in the prelims and in the consolation final of the 200 free she established a new personal mark of 1:44.81. She earned honorable mention All-America honors in the events, held in College Station, Texas. Jensen was also a member of Cal's 800-yard freestyle relay team which won the Pac-10 title in a Conference record time of 6:56.87.

McKeever, in her 17th season at California, became the first woman to be credited with an NCAA swimming & diving team title. She was named the 2009 NCAA Coach of the Year and earns her third Pac-10 Women's Swimming Coach of the Year honors. She led the Golden Bears to their first Pac-10 and NCAA Championships in school history. Under her tutelage, Cal has produced six Pac-10 Swimmers of the Year and have made 13 consecutive top-10 NCAA finishes.

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder