18 Stanford Women's Swimmers and Divers Named to Pac-10 All-Academic Teams

April 3, 2009

Official Pac-10 Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

STANFORD, Calif. - Again showing that the program excels both in the pool and in the classroom, a conference-best 18 members of the Stanford women's swimming and diving team were honored on the 2009 Pacific-10 Conference All-Academic teams, as announced by Commissioner Tom Hansen. To be eligible for selection to the academic team, a student-athlete must have a minimum 3.0 overall grade-point average and be either a starter or significant contributor.

Leading the way for the Cardinal women was first-team selection Andrea Axtell, who last month was named the Pac-10 Women's Swimming and Diving Scholar Athlete of the Year. Axtell, who is currently a research assistant for a clinical research group in vascular medicine at Stanford, earned first-team Pac-10 All-Academic status all four years during her Cardinal career.

Junior Whitney Spence was a first-team Pac-10 All-Academic selection for the second consecutive year, while four Stanford student-athletes earned first-team status for the first time: junior Meredith Ayres, junior Elaine Breeden, senior Madeline Rovira and junior Carmen Stellar.

Representing Stanford on the Pac-10 All-Academic second team were sophomore Kate Dwelley, junior Nilasha Ghosh, junior Kelley Hug, sophomore Kerry Kraemer, junior Julia Smit, sophomore Liz Smith and senior Laura Wadden.

The following Cardinal student-athletes garnered honorable mention Pac-10 All-Academic accolades: sophomore Meg Hostage, junior Michele Liu, senior Sarah Ohr, junior Caitlin Reynolds and junior Stefanie Sutton.

Stanford enjoyed another successful season in 2008-09, bringing home NCAA Championships hardware for the third consecutive year under head coach Lea Maurer by virtue of its fourth place finish in College Station, Texas. The Cardinal was also honored as the top-ranked dual meet team in the country by the College Swimming Coaches Association of America (CSCAA) after posting a perfect 20-0 record in head-to-head competition.

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder