Brockman Named Chip Hilton Award Recipient

April 3, 2009

LUBBOCK, Texas - Chip Hilton Sports and the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) are proud to announce Jon Brockman of the University of Washington as this year's Chip Hilton Award winner and Coach Mike Anderson of the University of Missouri as the 2009 recipient of the Coach Clair Bee Award.

Four of the nation's premier basketball coaches and five outstanding graduating players were named as finalists for the thirteenth annual prestigious Clair Bee and Chip Hilton Awards, to be presented by Chip Hilton Sports and the NABC during the Final Four in Detroit on April 5 at the NABC Past Presidents' Luncheon at the COBO Center.

The Chip Hilton Player of the Year Award honors a Division I graduating senior men's player for demonstrating outstanding character, leadership, and talent similar to the qualities evident in the 24-book Chip Hilton Sports Series. The books, authored by Coach Clair Bee, enjoyed their first popularity in the late 1940s through the mid-1960s and were updated and re-released by Randy and Cindy Farley to a new generation of readers in 1999 and have sold over a million copies.The five finalists for the Chip Hilton Award were: A. J. Abrams (University of Texas), Jon Brockman (University of Washington), Tyler Hansbrough (University of North Carolina); Jason Holsinger (University of Evansville), and Brett Winkelman (North Dakota State University).

The Selection Committee voted Jon Brockman as the recipient of this year's award.

Jon, a first-team All-Pac-10 selection for the second time, led his 2008-2009 Huskies team to a 26-9 record. The 6-7 senior from Snohomish, Washington, started 129 times and played in 131 games during his four seasons at the University of Washington. He led the Huskies in rebounding four-straight seasons, led the Pac-10 the last three and finished the recently-concluded 2009 season ranked seventh nationally.

He completed his collegiate career with 1,805 points (13.8 ppg) and 1,283 rebounds (9.8 rpg). Jon is the University of Washington's all-time leading rebounder and second-leading scorer.

He is the first Husky and only the fourth player in Pac-10 history to surpass 1,800 career points and 1,200 rebounds. Jon finished his career with 60 double-doubles, the nation's leader among active players.

A spring 2009 degree candidate, Jon is an Architectural Studies/Construction Management major. He has been active in the community in numerous youth programs and volunteers in charitable activities in Snohomish.

Wake Forest center Tim Duncan was the award's first recipient in 1997. Since that time, players such as Eduardo Najera (Oklahoma), Shane Battier (Duke), Emeka Okafor (Connecticut) and Acie Law IV (Texas A&M) have earned the honor.

The Coach Clair Bee Award honors the Active Division I men's basketball coach who has made the most significant positive contribution to his sport during the preceding year. The winner reflects the character and professional qualities of Clair Bee, a Hall of Fame coach whom many consider the best technical basketball coach in history and a man who cared deeply about his players' well being.

The four finalists for the Clair Bee Award were: Mike Anderson (University of Missouri), Brad Greenberg (Radford University), Trent Johnson (Louisiana State University), and Andy Kennedy (University of Mississippi).

Coach Mike Anderson directed the largest turnaround in major college basketball this year. Missouri improved 15 games from last season's 16-16 mark to go 31-7 in the 2008-2009 season.

He led the Tigers to its first Big 12 Tournament Championship and secured a 12-4 mark in Big 12 conference play, which is the best in school history.

Missouri extended its home-court winning streak to 19 games this year giving the Tigers a perfect 18-0 record for 2008-2009 with a 25.2 ppg scoring margin.

Coach Anderson led Missouri to its first national ranking since the 2003-2004 season and its first Top 10 national ranking in March since 1993-1994.

Coach Clair F. Bee, the late Long Island University coach and Hall of Famer, compiled an .826 lifetime winning percentage, still the best in major-college coaching history. Known as the 'Innovator', Clair Bee's influence on the game also extended to strategies such as the 1-3-1 zone defense and the 3-second rule, sports camps at Oriental, Manhattan, and Brighton beaches as well as Camp All-America and Kutsher's Sports Academy, writing technical coaching books, and conducting coaching clinics around the world.

By the time he left coaching in the 1950s, Clair Bee had already begun writing the Chip Hilton Sports Series, considered the top sports fiction series ever written.

Chip Hilton Sports began presenting the two awards in 1997 as a way to honor outstanding excellence and character in college basketball.

The Selection Committee is composed of: Dan Beebe, Jay Bilas, Dave Gavitt, Bob Hammel, Bob Knight, Pat Knight, Billy Packer, Dean Smith, and Dick Vitale.

Coach Bob McKillop of Davidson College was the 2008 Clair Bee Award winner. Last season's Chip Hilton Award winner was Mike Green of Butler University.

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:15 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder