UCLA Women's Rowing to Compete in San Diego Crew Classic

April 3, 2009

LOS ANGELES - The UCLA women's rowing team will participate in the annual San Diego Crew Classic this weekend, April 4-5, in Mission Bay, Calif. The Bruins' varsity eight crew vaulted into the national rankings (No. 13) after having defeated two top-15 programs at the 2009 Pac-10 Challenge one week ago.

Last season, UCLA's varsity eight finished fifth in the Grand Final of the San Diego Crew Classic. The Bruins' second varsity raced to a sixth-place finish in its Grand Final race, and UCLA's open eight finished first in the Grand Final.

SAN DIEGO CREW CLASSIC (UCLA's racing schedule)

Saturday, April 4
9:00 a.m. - Varsity 8+ (USC, Washington State, Wisconsin, UCLA, Miami)
9:50 a.m. - Second Varsity 8+ (Washington, UCLA, Notre Dame, Iowa, St. Mary's)
11:00 a.m. - Novice 8+ (Washington State, UCLA, San Diego State, Sacramento State, San Diego, Long Beach State, Pacific)

Sunday, April 5
9:15 a.m. - Varsity 8+ Grand Final (Jessop-Whittier Cup)
10:00 a.m. - Second Varsity 8+ Grand Final (Jackie Ann Stitt Hungness Trophy)
11:00 a.m. - Novice 8+ Grand Final (Laurel V. Korholz Perpetual Trophy)


V8+: (stroke) Lauren Counter, (7) Anatasia Alexander, (6) Lynn Hancock, (5) Vanessa Teff, (4) Alexandra Howard, (3) Megan Lightfoot, (2) Kristen Fitzmorris, (bow) Rachel LaBella, (coxswain) Alaizah Koorji

2V8+: (stroke) Emma Skelton, (7) Kaitlin Doering, (6) Caroline Curson, (5) Hayley Robinson, (4) Destinie Slavich, (3) Sheerin Salimi, (2) Christina Sprouse, (bow) Katrina Darracq, (coxswain) Lauren Bonnaud

N8+: (stroke) Andrea Panayides, (7) Nadia Basilio, (6) Megan Danley, (5) Laurel Hyatt-Miller, (4) Lindsay Pollock, (3) Jennifer Barnard, (2) Carissa Heath, (bow) Piper Akol, (coxswain) Ariel Handler

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder

Before you proceed please complete the captcha below.